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17.010 AUTHORITY

The laws and regulations shown below are a summary of all the laws and regulations listed in this handbook section.  The blue text designates hyperlinks that provide direct access to the laws and regulations listed and can be used by clicking on the blue text.

UNITED STATES CODE (USC): Title 42 USC, Chapter 7, Section 654.
PUBLIC LAWS (P. L.): P. L. 104-485.the Family Support Act of 1988, 

PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY AND WORK OPPORTUNITY RECONCILIATION ACT OF 1996 (PRWORA OR WELFARE REFORM ACT), 

SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (SSA): Title IV-D, Sections 454, 466 and 468.

CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS (CFR): 45 CFR Parts 301, 302 and 303
KENTUCKY REVISED STATUTES (KRS): KRS Chapters 205, 403 and 405
KENTUCKY ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS (KAR): Title 921, Chapter 1.400
17.020 NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REVIEW A REQEUST

Authority:  FSA –88,  45 CFR § 303, KRS 405.430 
FSA-88 and 45 CFR § 303.8, KRS 405.430(6) specify at least once every three years, Child Support Staff must notify each party subject to a IV-D child support order in Kentucky of the right to request a review of the order.  Division of Child Support (DCS) uses the Notice of Right to Request Review (Form CS-141) for this purpose.  The CS-141 is batch generated on KASES for parents who have good mailing addresses and who are associated with a Kentucky IV-D case for which a current support order exists.  The CS-141 advises the parents to request a modification review IN WRITING. KASES Network Memo 26 provides information about the CS-141.

Each parent must be notified of a review 30 days before it begins.  This advance notice is required only if a review is actually going to occur.  Contracting official caseworkers may use the Support Modification Review (Form CS-81) to give advance notice of the review as required by federal law and regulation.  This form is available on KASES on the GENERATE CASEWORKER DOCUMENTS screen (ASEMD2).

NOTE:  The review may begin before the 30 day waiting period ends if BOTH PARENTS agree that the review should start earlier.

KRS 205.712(2)(i) states that the duties of the Division of Child Support (DCS), or its designee, shall include establishing child support obligations and seeking modification of judicially or administratively established child support obligations in accordance with the child support guidelines of the Commonwealth of Kentucky as provided under KRS 403.212.

17.030 CRITERA FOR A REVIEW

Authority:

KRS 403.213(1) and (2) state the following.

(1) The Kentucky child support guidelines may be used by the parent, custodian, or agency substantially contributing to the support of the child as the basis for periodic updates of child support obligations and for modification of child support orders for health care. *  The provisions of any decree respecting child support may be modified only as to installments accruing subsequent to the filing of the motion for modification and only upon a showing of a material change in circumstances that is substantial and continuing.

* Child support staff are to note that KRS 403.213(1) specifies that the Guidelines may be used as the basis for modification of child support orders for health care coverage.

(2) Application of the Kentucky child support guidelines to the circumstances of the parties at the time of the filing of a motion or petition for modification of the child support order which results in equal to or greater than a fifteen percent (15%) change in the amount of support due per month shall be rebuttably presumed to be a material change in circumstances.  Application which results in less than a fifteen percent (15%) change in the amount of support due per month shall be rebuttably presumed not to be a material change in circumstances.

45 CFR § 303.8(b) - Review of Child Support Orders

Each state must meet the following requirements for review and modification of child support orders.

1.
Have in effect and use a process for review and modification of child support orders being enforce under title IV-D of the Act by the request of either parent or upon the request of the IV-D agency in any TANF case.

2. States have three options in implementing their cyclical review and adjustment procedures as specified in Section 466(a)(10) of the Act and 45 CFR 303.8(b).  States must choose from the following procedures:

A. Review and, if appropriate, adjust the order if the amount of the award under the order differs from the amount that would be awarded in accordance with the guidelines; or 

B. Apply a cost-of-living adjustment to the order in accordance with a formula developed by the State; or

C. Use automated methods (including automated comparisons with wage or state income tax data) identify order eligible for review, conduct the review, identify orders eligible for adjustment, and apply the appropriate adjustment to the orders eligible for adjustment under any threshold that may be established by the state. 

NOTE:   If a state chooses either the second or third review methods, the state must have procedures permitting either party to contest the adjustment within 30 days after the date of the notice of the adjustment, by requesting a review and adjustment in accordance with the states guidelines. 

45 CFR § 303.8(d) – Medical Adjustment

The need to provide for a child's health care must be an adequate basis under state law to petition for modification of the child support order, regardless of whether a modification of the obligation amount is necessary.  In no event shall the eligibility for or receipt of Medicaid be considered to meet the need to provide for the child’s health care needs in the order.

NOTE:  Providing for the health care needs of children is an integral part of the general obligation that parents have to support their children.  Also, private insurance provided by parents for children eligible for Medicaid reduces the public's cost of supporting these children.

Below are listed the following types of cases and an explanation of criteria that may be reviewed and modified: They are: Public Assistance Cases, Non K-Tap Cases and All IV-D Cases.

Public Assistance Cases

K-TAP, Medicaid Only, and Foster Care cases are reviewed when a case meets all of the following criteria:

· there is an active, IV-D case in Kentucky;

· there is an order for current support;*
· the support order is 36 months old or older; and 

· the only child or the youngest child named in the order is at least 18 months away from being emancipated.**
* A support order is not reviewed for modification when the noncustodial parent is deceased.  However, the case remains open for as long as action can be taken against his/her estate.

** The date of emancipation must be considered in context with the time needed to complete the review and modification process (about six months) and the length of time the child will benefit from the modified order.  It is DCS's policy not to review an order unless the child can benefit for approximately one year.

Child support staff also are required to review public assistance cases at the request of either parent, even if the case was formerly closed due to a good cause determination by the IV-A agency (which also administers Title XIX Medicaid Only cases in Kentucky) or the IV-E agency.  If either party request a review of the order after the public assistance agency has determined good cause, the IV-D case is opened.  The public assistance agency is asked to determine if good cause still exists.  If good cause no longer exists, the support order is reviewed for possible modification.  If good cause still exists, the IV-D case is closed.

A Medicaid (MA) Only case must be reviewed when medical support has not been ordered.  An MA Only custodial parent assigns only medical support rights to the Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS).  This means that if an MA Only custodial parent has not requested IV-D services, only the medical support portion of the order is reviewed for possible modification.  If the MA Only custodial parent has requested IV-D services, then medical support and child support are reviewed.

Non-K-TAP Cases

Child Support staff review support orders for possible modification in non-K-TAP cases when either parent requests a review and the case meets all of the following criteria:

· there is an active, IV-D case in Kentucky;

· there is an order for current support;

· either the order is at least two years old, or the order is less than two years old but one of the parents provides documentation of a continuing change in circumstances which may result in modification of the support order; and

· the only child or the youngest child named in the order is at least 18 months away from being emancipated.*
*The date of emancipation must be considered in context with the time needed to complete the review and modification process (about six months) and the length of time the child will benefit from the modified order.  It is DCS's policy not to review an order unless the child can benefit for approximately one year.

A non-K-TAP, nonparental, custodial parent who is not the payee named in the support order can request a modification review.  When this occurs and the case is either referred by child support staff to a contracting official or reviewed by contracting official staff, support is made payable to the nonparental custodial parent through CHFS.

All IV-D Cases

Federal regulations require review of an order for possible modification for any IV-D case when either parent requests a review.

Review of a support order may cause the obligation to increase, decrease, or stay the same.  Review of an order also may cause medical support in the form of health insurance coverage for the children to be added or removed.

It is DCS's policy to review all orders at the same time when the noncustodial parent or obligor has multiple orders for related cases.  This includes cross-referenced cases for the "same family" and for "different families."  Same family children have the same mother and father.  Different family children have different mothers but the same father.

Reviewing all orders at the same time causes all orders associated with the same noncustodial parent or obligor to have the same review/modification date.  Also, information gathering occurs only once for these orders, which eliminates gathering information repeatedly from the same group of people.

When multiple orders are reviewed and the cases are in different contracting official offices, the officials decide on a case-by-case basis which office will conduct the review.  It may be more convenient to select the office, which serves the noncustodial parent or obligor, as this person is the common denominator in the cases.  However, there is nothing in statute or regulation which specifies which office must conduct the review; the review is conducted in the office which is more convenient for a particular situation.

If circumstances warrant, an order MAY be reviewed more often than every 36 months.  Also, an order MAY be less than 36 months old when it receives its first modification review.  For example, an order may be reviewed if it is learned that there has been a significant decrease in income because one of the parents has become disabled.  Also, an order may be reviewed if one of the parents has received a raise and there has been a significant increase in income, that is, an increase that will change the obligation amount by 15% or more.

Frivolous requests for review may be denied.  For example, a request for review may be denied if either parent repeatedly (again and again) requests a review and his/her circumstances have not changed.  A request for review also may be denied if either parent is temporarily out of work or temporarily unable to work.  DCS defines temporary as six months or less.

A nonparental custodial parent who is not the payee named in the support order can request a modification review.  When this occurs, the payee also is notified of the review, if possible.  Since there is usually an open IV-D case for each noncustodial parent or obligor, the parent named payee will normally receive notification of the review, along with the other noncustodial parent or obligor and the nonparental custodial parent.

A noncustodial parent or obligor whose support order was established by default can request a modification review. Child support staff review the order for possible modification.  If appropriate, either the area office caseworker administratively modifies the order or refers the case to a contracting official for judicial modification, or the contracting official caseworker has the order modified judicially.

Medical support in the form of health insurance for the children cannot be ordered when support is established by default because it is not known if health insurance is available at reasonable cost.  If the noncustodial parent requests a modification review of a default order, the addition of medical support must be considered.

17.040 TIMEFRAME FOR REVIEW AND MODIFICATION

Authority:  

45 CFR § 303.8(e) - Time Frames for Review and Adjustment

Within 180 calendar days of receiving a request for a review or locating the non-requesting parent, whichever occurs later, a State must;

a. conduct a review of the order and adjust the order; or 

b. determine that the order should not be adjusted

17.050 INITATION OF REVIEW

Authority:

KRS 403.213 defines Kentucky's criteria for modification of child support obligations.  A child support obligation is modified when there is a continuing change in circumstances, which changes the monthly support obligation by 15% or more.
As required by KRS 403.211(2), review and modification of IV-D obligations is to be done in accordance with the Child Support Guidelines as stated below.

(2) At the time of initial establishment of a child support order, whether temporary or permanent, or in any proceeding to modify a support order, the child support guidelines in KRS 403.212 shall serve as a rebuttable presumption for the establishment or modification of the amount of child support.  Courts may deviate from the guidelines where their application would be unjust or inappropriate.  Any deviation shall be accompanied by a written finding or specific finding on the record by the court, specifying the reason for the deviation.

KRS 405.430(6) states that when in the best interest of the child, the cabinet may review and adjust a parent’s child support obligation as established be the cabinet, upon a request of the request of the cabinet when an assignment has been made, or upon either parents petition if the amount of the child support awarded under the order differs from the amount that would be awarded in accordance with KRS 403.212.  The cabinet shall notify parents at least once every three (3) years of the right to a review. 

17.060 THE REVIEW PROCESS

Authority

KRS 405.430(7) states that in establishing or modifying a parent’s monthly child support 

obligation, CFC may use information, including financial records, about the parent and 

child which it has good reason to believe is reliable and may require the parents to 

provide income verification.

Information gathering forms appropriate to the case situation are enclosed with the CS-81.  The packet of forms is sent by first class mail.  The forms give the parents the opportunity to submit information relevant to the review.  The same forms are sent whether DCSE initiates the review or a parent requests the review.  

These forms are the Statement of Income and Resources (Form CS-65), the Health Insurance Information Request (Form CS-136), and the Child Care Expense Verification (Form CS-132).  In addition, the Wage Information Request (Form CS-130) is sent by first class mail to the father’s employer and/or the mother’s employer as needed.  

NOTE:  A CS-130 is not sent to a nonparental custodial parent's employer because only the mother's and father's incomes are considered when a support obligation is determined.

Each party must be notified of the outcome of the review.  When an administrative support order is changed, area office caseworkers send the Notice of Monthly Support Obligation (Form CS-66) to inform the parents of the proposed obligation and/or the addition of health insurance for the children.  When an administrative support order is not changed, area office caseworkers send the Affirmation of Obligation (Form CS-79) to notify the parents that the order will not be modified.

When a judicial support order is reviewed by a court and changed, either the court or the contracting official caseworker sends the modified order to the parents to inform them of the outcome of the review.  The order states the court's finding as to how the obligation and/or medical support will change.

When a judicial support order is not changed, either the court or the contracting official caseworker sends the parents a copy of the court’s findings.  The contracting official caseworker may use the CS-79 as a cover letter for the court’s findings, or he/she may use a document, which his/her office has created for this purpose.  The CS-79 is available to contracting official caseworkers on the GENERATE CASEWORKER DOCUMENTS screen (ASEMD2).

The parents must be allowed NO LESS THAN 30 DAYS to challenge the results of the review.  The 30 day time frame applies to all modified orders, either administrative or judicial.  The CS-66 and the CS-79 include a statement, which informs the parents that they can request a dispute hearing within 30 days of the date that they receive either the modified CS-66 or the CS-79.  The modified court order or the findings of the court also must include a statement, which informs the parents that they have 30 days to challenge the court’s ruling.

NOTE:  Dispute hearings for the modification of administrative support orders are conducted by the Hearing Branch in the Division of Administrative Review.  When a parent contest a judicial support order, the case is referred to or heard by the next higher court than the court which issued the order.

A modification review may not be appropriate for various reasons.  For example, the support order for a public assistance case may be less than 36 months old.  The noncustodial parent may be deceased.  The only child in the case may be nearing the date of emancipation.  Also, the order may have resulted from a rebuttal of the Guideline.

KRS 403.211(3) provides a list of reasons which a court may use to rebut the Guideline, that is, to determine that basing the obligation on the Guideline is unjust or inappropriate.

The following outline describes how the review process generally proceeds.  Contracting official caseworkers may use the information gathering  forms listed here or forms developed in their respective offices.  The forms listed here, with the exception of the CS-65, are available on KASES on the GENERATE CASEWORKER DOCUMENTS screen (ASEMD2) and create an event on KASES when they are generated.

If contracting official caseworkers choose to use forms developed in their respective offices, they must document use of their forms on KASES.  This is done by creating a SELF event and attaching notes.  The notes need to specify what prompted action, describe all actions taken, and list all forms which was not generated on KASES.

I.
Contracting official caseworkers may receive a request for modification of a support order, may be notified by automated report that review of the order is needed, or may determine by working a case that review for possible modification is appropriate.

II.
Contracting official caseworkers check Program 48, Wage Records, on KYIMS to see if there are wage records for the parents.

III.
IF THERE ARE NO WAGE RECORDS, contracting official caseworkers may send the CS-81, along with the appropriate information gathering forms (CS-65, CS-132, and CS-136), to the parents.  They may send a CS-136 to a nonparental custodial parent as this person may be providing health insurance for the children.  Contracting official caseworkers also may send a CS-130 to the mother’s and father’s employers, as appropriate.  If these forms are not used, they send information-gathering forms developed in their respective offices.

A.
If the forms are not returned, contracting official caseworkers have the option of obtaining needed information through the judicial system. If the forms are not returned, caseworkers do not change the support obligation.  They document their actions on KASES and send a CS-79 to the parents stating that the obligation will not be modified.

B.
If the forms are returned, contracting official caseworkers use the Obligation Calculations function on KASES and the information provided on the forms to determine what the current support obligation should be.

1.
If the change in the obligation is less than 15%, contracting official caseworkers send either a CS-79 or a document developed in their office to the parents stating that the obligation will not be modified.  They also document their actions on KASES.

2.
If the change in the obligation is 15% or more, contracting official caseworkers take the appropriate action to request that the court review the support order for modification.  They also document their actions on KASES.

NOTE:  Caseworkers refer cases to the contracting official in the county in which the custodial parent resides unless the noncustodial parent or obligor and the order are located in the same county.  When the noncustodial parent or obligor and the order are located in the same county and it is not the county in which the custodial parent resides, caseworkers refer the case to the county in which the noncustodial parent or obligor and the order are located.  This change in procedure became effective August 24, 1994.

3.
If the change in the obligation is 15% or more and the order is administrative, caseworkers generate a CS-66, follow all procedures to modify the support obligation and/or to add health insurance for the children, and document their actions on KASES.

IV.
IF THERE ARE WAGE RECORDS, contracting official caseworkers use the wage record information and the Obligation Calculations function on KASES to determine what the current support obligation should be.

A.
If the change in the obligation is less than 15%, contracting official caseworkers send a either a CS-79 or a document developed in their office to the parents if there was a request for modification.  They also document their actions on KASES.

NOTE:  Contracting official caseworkers do not send either a CS-79 or a form letter if there was not a request for modification because forms were not sent to the parents notifying them that the obligation was being reviewed for possible modification.

B. If the change in the obligation is 15% or more, contracting official caseworkers take the appropriate action to request that the court review the support order for modification.  They also document their actions on KASES.  If the change in the obligation is 15% or more and the order is judicial, caseworkers refer the case electronically to the appropriate contracting official and document their actions on KASES.  They also print a copy of the wage records and send them, attached to a CS-15, to the contracting official.

NOTE:  See note on page 16.

C.
If the change in the obligation is 15% or more and the order is administrative, caseworkers send the CS-81, along with the appropriate information gathering forms (CS-65, CS-132, and CS-136), to the parents.  Caseworkers send a CS-136 to a non-K-TAP, nonparental, custodial parent as this person may be providing health insurance for the children.  Caseworkers also send a CS-130 to the mother’s and father’s employers, as appropriate.

1.
If the forms are not returned, caseworkers use the support obligation that they calculated using the noncustodial parent’s wage record information as the new obligation.  They generate a CS-66, follow all procedures to modify the obligation and/or to add health insurance for the children, and document their actions on KASES.

2.
If the forms are returned, caseworkers use the Obligation Calculations function on KASES and the information provided on the forms to determine what the current support obligation should be.

a.
If the change in the obligation is less than 15%, caseworkers document their actions on KASES and send a CS-79 to the parents stating that the obligation will not be modified.

b.
If the change in the obligation is 15% or more, caseworkers generate a CS-66, follow all procedures to modify the obligation and/or to add health insurance for the children, and document their actions on KASES.]

17.070 CALCULATION

Authority

45 CFR § 303.8(c) - Basis for Seeking adjustment: The state may establish a reasonable, quantitative standard based on a fixed dollar amount or a percentage or both to determine if the inconsistency between the existing support obligation and the support obligation calculated using the guideline is adequate grounds for modifying the order.

KRS 403.212 defines how a support obligation is calculated and contains the Child Support Guidelines.  The Guidelines is the table or scale, which is used, along with the Worksheet for Monthly Child Support Obligation (Form CS-71), to calculate a support obligation.  The CS-71 can be found on the Kentucky Automated Support and Enforcement System (KASES) as the Obligation Calculations function.  This function automatically calculates the obligation using the data entered on the CS-71 Input Screen (ASEUP1) in conjunction with the Guidelines.

NOTE:  If a Kentucky judicial support order orders an obligation of less than $60.00 per month and the obligation did not result from a rebuttal of the Guidelines, the case is reviewed for a redetermination of the obligation.

17.080 REVIEW DETERMINATION

Authority

17.080 DIRECT REFERRAL FROM A PUBLIC ASSISTANCE OFFICE

Authority: 45 CFR § 303
Public assistance offices electronically refer cases, which are appropriate for child support action to DCS by interface between KAMES and KASES.  The responsible worker can be in an area office, the Foster Care Unit, or a contracting official’s office.  The area offices receive most referrals; however, some contracting officials have elected to receive public assistance referrals directly from public assistance offices.

45 CFR § 303.3(b) requires that a IV-D case be opened within 20 calendar days of the receipt of a public assistance referral or a non-K-TAP application.  Opening a case means establishing a case record, assessing the case to determine the necessary action, and initiating the action, which needs to be completed for the case by

1. Soliciting necessary and relevant information from the custodial parent and other relevant sources and initiate verification of information, if appropriate; and

2. if there is inadequate location information to proceed with the case, requesting additional information or refer the case for further location attempts.

A public assistance referral consists of either an electronic referral or an AP Referral (KIM-100, Supplement PP).  A referral is completed for either a K-TAP case or a Medicaid Only case for children with a deprivation factor of desertion, divorce, legal separation, marriage annulment, or birth out of wedlock.

In addition to the electronic referral, contracting official caseworkers in direct referral counties receive a system generated, hard copy form called Assignment of Rights (Form PA-125).  The PA-125 is signed and dated by the custodial parent and the Division of Field Services (DFS) caseworker and shows that the custodial parent understands his/her rights and responsibilities.  The DFS caseworker also generates and sends to the contracting official caseworker in a direct referral county a one page form called the Absent Parent Fact and Information Sheet.  This form also is signed and dated by the custodial parent and the DFS caseworker.

The KIM-100, Supplement PP is completed for Medicaid Only cases with a program code of “B,” “D,” or “U.”  It is completed manually because these cases remain on the PA-62 system.  For direct referral counties, the KIM-100, Supplement PP is sent directly to the appropriate contracting official’s office.

A public assistance referral for a Foster Care case consists of the Title IV-E and Child Support Referral (Form DSS-1260).  It serves as both an application for Title IV-E benefits and as a referral for child support services.  The Title IV-E and Child Support Change of Status (Form DSS-1263) serves as a supplement to the DSS-1260 and is used to notify caseworkers of changes to Foster Care cases.

17.090 REVIEW DETERMINATION

Authority

17.100 FILING OF APPLICATION FOR MODIFICATION

Authority

17.110 INCOME WITHHOLDING WITH MODIFIED ORDERS

Authority

17.120 INTERSTATE REVIEW AND MODIFICATION

Authority 45 CFR § 303

45 CFR § 303.8(f)(1) outlines the initiating state's responsibilities.  45 CFR § 303.8(f)(2) outlines the responding state's responsibilities.

For more information, please see Handbook Section Interstate Subsection Interstate-In (URESA) – Review and Modification of Support Orders.  (Until the manual section is revised, refer to the Prosecutors Handbook Subsection 21.060, Interstate-In - (URESA) - Review and Modification of Support Orders, and in Handbook Subsection 21.090, Interstate-Out (URESA) - Review and Modification of Support Orders.

Contracting official caseworkers and area office caseworkers are responsible for reviewing Kentucky IV-D cases with out-of-state support orders.  These are interstate-out cases or I cases which means that Kentucky is the initiating state.  The custodial parent and children reside in Kentucky; the noncustodial parent or obligor resides either in Kentucky or another state.  Handbook Subsection 21.090, Interstate-Out - Review and Modification of Support Orders, provides information about IV-D cases with out-of-state orders.

Contracting official caseworkers and area office caseworkers are responsible for obtaining financial information from a parental custodial parent and, if appropriate, from this person's employer.  Caseworkers also are responsible for obtaining information about health insurance coverage from a non-K-TAP, nonparental, custodial parent.

Procedures for obtaining information are outlined in Handbook Subsection 27.120, The Review Process.  Contracting official caseworkers and area office caseworkers follow the same steps to obtain information for the review of out-of-state orders as they do for Kentucky orders.

Contracting official caseworkers and area office caseworkers are responsible for obtaining financial information from a noncustodial parent or obligor if he/she resides in Kentucky and, if appropriate, from this person's employer.  If the noncustodial parent or obligor does not reside in Kentucky, caseworkers do not have to obtain financial information for this parent.

Contracting official caseworkers and area office caseworkers use the Child Support Enforcement Transmittal (Form CS-103) to refer cases for possible modification to the state, which issued the order.  Caseworkers attach all information obtained for the custodial parent.  They also attach financial information for the noncustodial parent or obligor if he/she resides in Kentucky.

The state which issued the support order can either review the order for possible modification or decline to review the order if neither party resides in that state.

If the state which issued the order declines to review the order and the noncustodial parent or obligor does NOT reside in Kentucky, the caseworker initiates a new modification request to the state in which this parent resides.  If the state in which the noncustodial parent or obligor resides also declines to review the order, Kentucky registers the order as a foreign support order and proceeds with reviewing the order for possible modification.

If the state, which issued the order, declines to review the order and the noncustodial parent or obligor resides in Kentucky, Kentucky can register the order as a foreign support order and proceed with reviewing the order for possible modification.

Information about registering a foreign support order is in Handbook Subsection 21.010, Interstate Defined.  If an area office caseworker is working the IV-D case, he/she must refer the case to a contracting official for registration of the order as judicial procedures are required to register a foreign support order.

17.030 CRITERIA FOR REVIEW

Authority: 45 CFR § 303
Review and adjustment requirements for child support orders are governed by Title 45 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Section (§) 303.8, Review and Adjustment of Child Support Orders. 

45 CFR § 303.8(a) – Definition

Parent includes any custodial parent (mother or father) or noncustodial parent or obligor (mother or father).  For the purpose of requesting a review, a parent also is any other person or entity that may have standing to request a modification of the child support order. 
17.040 FACTORS WHICH CAN CAUSE A CONTINUING CHANGE IN CIRCUMSTANCES

Authority:  KRS 403
A support obligation needs to be modified when there is a continuing change in circumstances which changes the obligation by 15% or more.  The factors which can cause a continuing change in circumstances are outlined in KRS 403.212 and include: 

(1) income, 

(2) health insurance costs, 

(3) ordered current maintenance for prior (former) spouses which is being paid,

(4) ordered current support for prior-born (older) children which is being paid, 

(5) voluntary support for prior-born children, 

(6) imputed (allowed) support for prior-born children who reside with the parent,

(7)  allowable child care expenses;  and.

(8) incarcerated Noncustodial Parents or Obligators
INCOME

Authority:  KRS 403 

The income of both parents must be investigated as part of the review and modification process.  Sources of income include the following: Program 48, Wage Records, on KYIMS; recent pay stubs for at least three months; a person's latest federal and state income tax returns; a person's latest W-2 statements; federal form 1099; and/or an employer's statement of earnings.  For the self-employed, verification of income is proof of gross receipts and expenses.

A Wage Information Request (Form CS-130) may be used to obtain a statement of earnings from a parent’s employer.  Contracting official caseworkers have access to this form on the GENERATE CASEWORKER DOCUMENTS screen (ASEMD2).

NOTE:  When income fluctuates, for example, when income is seasonal or results from overtime and/or bonus pay, income for 12 months is used to determine a monthly income average.

The gross monthly income of both parents is used to determine a support obligation.  Gross income is a person's total income before deductions.  KRS 403.212(2)(a) defines income as "actual gross income of the parent if employed to full capacity or potential income if unemployed or underemployed."

KRS 403.212(2)(b) states that gross income includes income from any source, except K-TAP and food stamps.  It includes, but is not limited to, income from salaries, wages, commissions, bonuses, dividends, severance pay, pensions, interest, trust income, annuities, capital gains, social security benefits, workers' compensation benefits, unemployment insurance benefits, disability insurance benefits, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), gifts, prizes, and alimony or maintenance.

KRS 403.212(2)(c) states that gross income for income from self-employment, rent, royalties, proprietorship of a business, or joint ownership of a partnership or closely held corporation means gross receipts minus ordinary and necessary expenses required for self-employment or business operation.

Self-employment means a parent is working for himself/herself.  The parent can be the owner of a business or the provider of a service.

A proprietorship is the owning and operating of a business by an individual.  The parent actually has a business and is not simply the provider of a service.  A proprietorship is not set up as a corporation.

A partnership is a business enterprise run by two or more people.

A corporation is a group of people legally authorized to act as an individual.  A closely held corporation is a corporation in which stock is held by one or a few persons.  In a closely held corporation, the sole or major stockholder also serves as the director of the corporation.

If either parent is part of a closely held corporation and the case is being reviewed by an area office caseworker, this caseworker refers the case to the appropriate contracting official for judicial review for possible modification.  An explanation of why the case was referred is included on a DCSE Transmittal (Form CS-15) in comments.

Effective January 1, 1994, Kentucky taxpayers may choose to use either accelerated or straight line depreciation in order to determine gross income.  Line 14 on the 740 and line 10 on the 740-S Kentucky Individual Income Tax Forms show adjusted gross income.  This is the amount used in determining a support obligation.

KRS 403.212(2)(c) also states that expense reimbursement or in-kind payments received by a parent are counted as income if they are significant and reduce personal living expenses.  The reimbursement or in-kind payments must be received in the course of employment, self-employment, or operation of a business.  This includes the use of a company or business car, free housing, reimbursed meals, and club dues.

Income is imputed to a parent when the parent is voluntarily unemployed or underemployed.  Imputed means the income is attributed or charged to the parent.  KRS 403.212(2)(d) states:  “A court may find a parent to be voluntarily unemployed or underemployed without finding that the parent intended to avoid or reduce the child support obligation.”

Voluntarily unemployed means the parent is not working by choice.  In other words, he/she has quit work.  Voluntarily unemployed also means the parent has chosen never to work.

Voluntarily underemployed means the parent is working for less money by choice.  When a parent is underemployed, the parent's current wages are less than previous wages.

Previous income or minimum wage, whichever is higher, is used in determining the support obligation when the parent is voluntarily unemployed or underemployed.

NOTE:  Minimum wage is multiplied by 40 hours to get a weekly income when minimum wage is used to determine income.

Mothers and fathers who receive K-TAP benefits are considered voluntarily unemployed or underemployed.  Therefore, previous income or minimum wage, whichever is higher, is imputed to them when the support obligation is determined.

However, if a K-TAP recipient is physically or mentally disabled or is caring for a child of the parties age three or younger, actual income is used, just as actual income is used for any other parent who is incapacitated or who is caring for a child of the parties age three or younger.  Actual income may be zero income.

NOTE:  A “child of the parties” means the mother and father’s biological or adopted child.  This is their child and they have a joint responsibility for this child.  “Age three or younger” means until the child reaches his/her fourth birthday.

If a parent has been fired or laid off, he/she is considered unemployed or underemployed (if working somewhere).  If a parent has been fired or laid off recently* and has income other than UI benefits, the parent's actual income is used in determining the support obligation.  If a parent has been fired or laid off recently, * has no income, and the case is being reviewed by an area office caseworker, the caseworker refers the case to the appropriate contracting official for judicial review for possible modification.

* DCSE defines recently as within the past six months.

If a parent has been fired or laid off, more than six months have passed, and the parent has no income, the parent is considered voluntarily unemployed or underemployed.  As stated before, previous income or minimum wage, whichever is higher, is imputed to a parent who is voluntarily unemployed or underemployed.

NOTE:  It may be necessary to call or write to the parent's employer to determine if the parent quit or was fired or laid off.

Actual income is used when a parent is incapacitated, that is, physically or mentally disabled.  A person who receives SSI is considered incapacitated and actual income (the person's SSI payment) is used when the obligation is calculated.

In other instances, a physician's statement is needed to prove that a parent is incapacitated.  The parent also must (1) have applied for Retirement, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (RSDI), or (2) have applied for K-TAP and/or Medicaid based on a deprivation code of incapacity.  If the parent's application is denied, then he/she is not considered incapacitated.

Actual income also is used for a parent who is caring for a child age three or younger for whom the parents owe a joint legal responsibility.  This is a child who was born to or adopted by the mother and the father.

When the only source of income information is computer wage records, a court order is needed to release the income records.  When income information has been confirmed by another source, for example, an employer or the mother or father, the income records can be released in an appropriate manner.  Handbook Subsection 9.070, Release of Case Information, gives procedures for appropriate release of information.

NOTE:  Release of information obtained from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) is outlined in Handbook Subsection 9.080.

HEALTH INSURANCE COST

The cost of health insurance for the children is considered when a support obligation is calculated.  Either the mother or the father can be given a deduction for paying for the children's health insurance.  This deduction also is allowed when either parent's spouse is the person who is actually paying for the health insurance.  If both parents are paying for the children's health insurance, both parents are given a deduction when the obligation is determined.

Proof of having health insurance is a copy of the insurance policy or a copy of the insurance card.  Proof of paying for health insurance can be pay stubs, canceled checks, or money order receipts.  Proof of paying for a health insurance policy also can be the Wage Information Request (Form CS-130) as this form asks the employer to provide the cost of health insurance for the employee in question.

If a non-K-TAP custodial parent is providing satisfactory health insurance for the children, the noncustodial parent or obligor does not have to be ordered to carry health insurance because the children are not receiving Medicaid.  If the mother or father who has custody is paying for health insurance, he/she is given a deduction for the amount paid when the support obligation is calculated.

When the children receive Medicaid, the noncustodial parent or obligor is ordered to provide health insurance if it is available to him/her at reasonable cost.  If it is not available at reasonable cost now, the noncustodial parent or obligor is ordered to obtain health insurance when it becomes available at reasonable cost.  Reasonable cost means the insurance is provided through employment or through other group insurance.  For example, the noncustodial parent or obligor may belong to a labor union or credit union, which has group health insurance available to its members.

ORDERED CURRENT MAINTENANCE FOR PRIOR SPOUSES

Authority:  KRS 403
The amount of any ordered current maintenance (alimony or spousal support) for a prior (former) spouse which is actually paid each month is included as a deduction for the mother and the father when the obligation is calculated.  KRS 403.212(2)(g) specifies that only the amount actually being paid can be used as the deduction.

NOTE:  Maintenance is defined as a court ordered amount for the support of a party in a legal relationship, such as between a husband and a wife.

If the amount paid is not the same as the amount ordered an average amount paid per month is determined.  If available, the total amount paid for the past year is divided by 12 to determine an average monthly amount of ordered current maintenance.

Proof of paying ordered current maintenance for a prior spouse can be canceled checks, money order receipts, or a court/collection agency record of payments.

ORDERED CURRENT SUPPORT FOR PRIOR-BORN CHILDREN

Authority:  KRS 403

The amount of an order for current support for prior-born (older) children, which is actually paid each month, is included as a deduction for the mother and the father when the obligation is calculated.  KRS 403.212(2)(g) specifies that only the amount actually being paid can be used as the deduction.

If the amount paid is not the same as the amount ordered an average amount paid per month is determined.  If available, the total amount paid for the past year is divided by 12 to find the average monthly amount paid for ordered current support for prior-born children.

Proof of paying ordered current support for prior-born children can be canceled checks, money order receipts, or a payment record from a court or collection agency.

VOLUNTARY SUPPORT FOR PRIOR-BORN CHILDREN

The amount of voluntary support, which is actually paid each month for prior-born (older) children, is allowed as a deduction for the mother and the father when the obligation is determined.

If the amount paid is not the same each month, an average amount paid per month is determined.  If available, the total amount paid for the past year is divided by 12 to determine the average monthly amount paid for voluntary support for prior-born children.

Proof of paying voluntary support for prior-born children can be canceled checks or money order receipts.

ALLOWANCE FOR PRIOR-BORN CHILDREN RESIDING IN THE HOME

Authority:  KRS 403

KRS 403.212(2)(e) states:  "'Imputed child support obligation' means the amount of child support the parent would be required to pay from application of the child support guidelines."

KRS 403.212(2)(g) specifies:  "If the prior-born children reside with that parent, an 'imputed child support obligation' shall be allowed in the amount which would result from application of the guidelines for the support of the prior born children."

This imputed or allowed support obligation for prior-born (older) children who reside with either the mother or the father is allowed as a deduction from parental gross income when the obligation is calculated.  The support obligation is imputed regardless of whether a support order exists for these children.  These are children for whom either the mother or the father is legally responsible.  This deduction is allowed for administrative and judicial cases.

The imputed child support obligation is based on the amount, which will result from using the Guideline.  It is determined in one of the following ways.

1.
If there is no support order for the prior-born child, use 100% of the income of the parent with whom the child is residing to determine an obligation to use in the DEDUCTION FOR OTHER CHILD SUPPORT FOR PRIOR BORN CHILDREN field on the KASES CS-71 INPUT SCREEN (ASEUP1) when entering information in order to calculate the monthly support obligation.

NOTE:  This includes prior-born children for whom paternity has not been established.

Use the Guideline, the parent’s monthly gross income, and the appropriate number of children to find the obligation to use as a deduction.  Round off the parent’s monthly gross income to the nearest hundred dollars before using the Guideline.  Round up from $50 and down from $49.

2.
If there is a support order for the prior-born child but there is no CS-71 or a copy of the CS-71 cannot be obtained, use 100% of the income of the parent with whom the child is residing to determine an obligation to use in the DEDUCTION FOR OTHER CHILD SUPPORT FOR PRIOR BORN CHILDREN field on the KASES CS-71 INPUT SCREEN (ASEUP1) when entering information in order to calculate the monthly support obligation.  Follow the steps in number one above to determine the deduction.

3.
If there is a support order for the prior-born child and a copy of the CS-71 can be obtained, use the parent's portion of the total support obligation, as shown on the CS-71, in the DEDUCTION FOR OTHER CHILD SUPPORT FOR PRIOR BORN CHILDREN field on the KASES CS-71 INPUT SCREEN (ASEUP1) when entering information in order to calculate the monthly support obligation.

ALLOWABLE CHILD CARE EXPENSES

Authority:  KRS 403 and KRS 405
Allowable child care expenses are child care costs which are paid by either the mother or the father so that the parent who has custody can work or go to school.

KRS 405.430(1) states CFC can determine a proportionate amount of child care costs to be included in the child support obligation.

When a parent who fails to support a child is not obligated to provide child support by court order, the cabinet may determine the parent's monthly child support obligation and proportionate share of child care costs incurred due to employment or job search of either parent, or incurred while receiving elementary or secondary education, or higher education or vocational training which will lead to employment.  The monthly child support obligation shall be determined pursuant to the Kentucky child support guidelines set forth in KRS 403.212.  The actual cost of child care shall be reasonable and shall be allocated between the parents in the same proportion as each parent's gross income, as determined under the guidelines, bears to the total family gross income.

The Local childcare Maximums chart, which is in the Appendix of the Prosecutors’ Handbook, was developed by CHFS for the JOBS* childcare and Transitional childcare programs.  DCSE uses it to determine the maximum amount to allow for childcare when determining an obligation.

* JOBS is now the Kentucky Works Program.

The amount actually paid by either the mother or the father for allowable childcare expenses is compared to the amount calculated using the chart.  The lesser of the two amounts is used as the cost for childcare when the obligation is determined.

The chart is composed of 15 sections, one for each of Kentucky's 15 Area Development Districts (ADDs).  The county in which the child receives care determines which of the 15 charts is used.  For example, if the mother and child reside in Shelby County but the child receives care in Franklin County, Franklin County determines which ADD to select.

The amount allowed on the chart is based on the following categories of childcare: Type I, Type II, certified, or unregulated.  Definitions of these categories are included with the Local childcare Maximums chart.

The chart is used by selecting the appropriate ADD, the category of childcare, and whether the care is full time or part time.  The special needs or the age of the child also determines the amount to allow.  The daily childcare rate is determined from these selections.

The amount charged per day is multiplied by five to find the weekly cost.  The weekly rate is multiplied by 52 and the result is divided by 12 to find the monthly cost.  This monthly rate is compared with the monthly amount which either the mother or the father is actually paying.  The lesser of the two amounts is used when the child support obligation is calculated.

INCARCERATED NONCUSTODIAL PARENTS OR OBLIGATORS

An incarcerated noncustodial parent or obligor may have income or assets, which can be levied or attached.  It is inappropriate to eliminate a parent’s child support obligation on the grounds that the parent is incarcerated and therefore does not have any income.  The parent’s children have been required to endure the parent’s incarceration; they should not have to endure the additional deprivation of a reduced standard of living if the incarcerated parent has property or assets which can be liquidated to satisfy a child support obligation or delinquency.  Judicial action must be taken by the appropriate contracting official for a IV-D case which involves modification of a support obligation for an incarcerated noncustodial parent or obligor.  If an area office caseworker reviews an obligation for possible modification and the parent is incarcerated, he/she refers the case to the appropriate contracting official for judicial action.  The electronic referral is followed by a CS-15 with a copy of the Court of Appeals’ opinion (case law) Redmon versus Redmon attached.

In Redmon versus Redmon, which can be found at the end of this handbook section, the Court of Appeals ruled against an incarcerated father who wanted to eliminate his child support obligation on the grounds that he had no income.  The trial court had determined that modification was not appropriate despite the incarcerated father’s lack of income.  It had concluded that the father’s incarceration could not be considered involuntary, was caused by his own conscious act, and was not a basis for modifying the agreed amount of child support.  The Court of Appeals affirmed the trial court’s decision on the basis that the incarcerated father did not claim to be indigent nor did he state that he had no property which could be used to satisfy his child support obligation.

17.060 REVIEW OF KENTUCKY SUPPORT ORDERS

Contracting official caseworkers and area office caseworkers are responsible for reviewing IV-D cases with Kentucky support orders when the parents reside in Kentucky.  The review process can be completed for these cases because the laws of Kentucky govern the modification of the order.

Contracting official caseworkers and area office caseworkers also are responsible for reviewing IV-D cases with Kentucky support orders when the noncustodial parent or obligor resides in another state.  When this parent resides in another state, the caseworker sends information gathering forms to both parents and proceeds with the modification review just as though both parents reside in Kentucky.

In addition, contracting official caseworkers and area office caseworkers are responsible for reviewing interstate-in cases when the support order is filed in Kentucky and the noncustodial parent or obligor resides in Kentucky.  These are R cases in which the custodial parent resides in another state and that state has asked Kentucky to review the order.  The caseworker gathers financial information from the noncustodial parent or obligor and his/her employer and uses custodial parent information provided by the other state.  Kentucky completes the review and modification process for these cases.

Contracting official caseworkers and area office caseworkers are NOT responsible for reviewing interstate-in cases when there is a Kentucky support order, neither parent resides in Kentucky, and another state requests a modification review.  It is DCSE's policy to exercise its option not to review a Kentucky order when there is an interstate-in request for review and neither party resides in Kentucky.  This does not mean that Kentucky no longer has jurisdiction over the parties subject to the order even though the parties have moved out of state.  The request is returned to the initiating state with the explanation that Kentucky declines the opportunity to review the order as neither party resides in Kentucky.  Information about the review and modification of interstate-in cases is in Handbook Subsection 21.060.

17.080 CHANGE OF VENUE

Venue is the local area in which a court, which has jurisdiction, may try a case.  Jurisdiction is the geographical area within which a court has the right and power to operate.  A court system may have jurisdiction to take a case in a wide geographic area, but the proper venue for the case may be one place within that area for the convenience of the parties.  Jurisdiction is subject to fixed rules; venue is often left to the discretion of the judge.

For the purpose of modifying an existing child support order, venue is with the court that issued the order.  Once an action is filed in the proper venue, it can be changed only under limited conditions.  These conditions are (1) by agreement of the parties, and (2) by a showing that a party cannot get a fair trial in the county in which the action has been filed.

In order to change venue by mutual agreement, the parties submit an Agreed Order of Change of Venue to the court, which has venue.  The Agreed Order must indicate the consent of the parties, bear their signatures and the signatures of their attorneys if they are represented by counsel, and state to which court the action is to be removed.  When the court clerk receives the Agreed Order signed by the judge, he/she is required to send the file of the action to the clerk of the court to which the action is being moved.  The receiving court clerk notes the date that the action is received; and the case proceeds as if the last pleading, motion, or order was made on the date of the notation.

17.090 MODIFICATION OF KETUCKY ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT ORDERS

Authority: 45 CFR § 303 and KRS 405

If a judicial support order meets the criteria for modification and has been reviewed by an area office caseworker, he/she electronically refers the case to the appropriate contracting official.  The area office caseworker also generates and forwards a CS-15 with all available supportive documentation attached.

Area office caseworkers refer cases to the contracting official in the county in which the custodial parent and children reside unless the noncustodial parent or obligor and the order are located in the same county.  When the noncustodial parent or obligor and the order are located in the same county and it is not the county in which the custodial parent resides, area office caseworkers refer the case to the county in which the noncustodial parent or obligor and the order are located.  This change became effective August 24, 1994.

If a contracting official caseworker receives a referral from an area office caseworker, does not process the modification request in a timely manner, and the information provided by the area office caseworker becomes outdated, the contracting official caseworker is responsible for obtaining the information a second time.

45 CFR § 303.8(e) requires that the review and modification process be completed within 180 days of either determining that a review needs to be conducted or of locating the nonrequesting parent.  Subsection 27.020, pages eight and nine, outline the federal time frames for the review and modification process.

45 CFR § 303.8(c)(7) requires that after the review, each parent must be notified of their right to object, within 30 calendar days, to the proposed modification of the support order or to the determination that there will not be a modification of the order. 

In addition, 45 CFR § 303.100(a)(10) requires the order to contain a statement which tells the noncustodial parent or obligor to keep DCSE informed of the following:  (1) his/her current employer's name and address, (2) whether he/she has access to health insurance at reasonable cost, and (3) information about the insurance policy if health insurance is available at reasonable cost.

Contracting official caseworkers are responsible for petitioning the court to modify the order after they receive the referral or determine that an adjustment is needed.  When a modified order results from the court’s review, this order notifies the parents of the outcome of the modification review.  Either the court or the contracting official caseworker provides the parents with a copy of the modified order.

When the court does not modify the order, the court’s findings notify the parents of the outcome of the review.  Either the court or the contracting official caseworker provides the parents with a copy of the court’s findings.  The caseworker may use either the CS-79 or a form developed by his/her office as a cover letter for sending a copy of the court’s findings to the parents.

KRS 405.467 allows a noncustodial parent or obligor to show good cause not to implement immediate withholding of earnings when a support order is established.  If the court allowed good cause and did not require immediate wage withholding, then the court must decide if good cause still applies when the order is modified.  The court needs to have a record proving that the noncustodial parent or obligor made all payments in a timely manner in order to allow the noncustodial parent or obligor to continue to be exempt from withholding of earnings.

A sample Motion for Modification of Child Support and Medical Support can be found at the end of this handbook section.  This sample motion allows a contracting official to seek a change in child support and medical support or child support.

A sample Motion to Change Payee and Motion for Modification of Child Support and Medical Support also follows.  This sample motion allows the contracting official to seek a payee change as well as to seek a change in child support and/or medical support.

A sample Motion and sample Complaint for establishing medical support when no other judicial action is needed can be found at the end of Handbook Section 17.000, Medical Support.  These sample forms were developed by CHFS's Office of the General Counsel.

Caseworkers are to refer to the information given in Manual Subsection 33.170, Notice of Monthly Support Obligation, when they modify a Kentucky administrative support order.  The steps listed in Subsection 33.170 under Service by Mail of the CS-66 are appropriate in most instances for completing and mailing a modified CS-66.  Differences between completing an initial CS-66 and a modified CS-66 are explained below.
KRS 405.440(5) states that the CS-66 determining support becomes final and effective 20 days after the noncustodial parent receives or refuses to accept the CS-66 and does not contest it.  Federal law allows no less than 30 days to contest a modified obligation.  Federal law is followed when a modified CS-66 is completed.  The modified CS-66 becomes effective after the parents have received or refused to accept the CS-66, 30 days have passed, and neither parent has contested the modified order.  The 30 day period begins after both returned mail receipts are received in the IV-D office.  For Example: The mail receipt for the noncustodial parent’s CS-66 is dated June 2.  The mail receipt for the client’s CS-66 is dated June 5.  June 5 is day one of the 30 day tickler period.

For an initial CS-66, the noncustodial parent is sent his/her CS-66 by certified or restricted mail; at least 20 days later, the custodial parent is sent a copy of the CS-66 by first class mail if the noncustodial parent has not contested the order.  For a modified CS-66, the noncustodial parent and the custodial parent are sent the CS-66 by certified or restricted mail at the same time, and each parent has 30 days to challenge the modified order.

Generation of an initial CS-66 creates a 35 day tickler (15 days for mail delivery plus 20 days for the CS-66 to become effective).  Generation of a modified CS-66 creates a 45 day tickler (15 days for mail delivery plus 30 days for the CS-66 to become effective). If the noncustodial parent’s CS-66 is unclaimed or not delivered, caseworkers follow the procedures outlined in Subsection 33.170 on page 41.  If a regular non-K-TAP custodial parent’s CS-66 is unclaimed or not delivered, caseworkers follow the procedures given in Subsection 20.070, Closed Cases, for contacting the parent over a 30 calendar day period before beginning case closure.  If a public assistance custodial parent’s CS-66 is unclaimed or not delivered, caseworkers contact the public assistance office for a good address.

If a noncustodial parent requests a hearing for an initial CS-66, there is no obligation until the dispute is resolved and the hearing officer’s decision is received.  If either parent requests a hearing for a modified CS-66, the previous obligation remains in effect until the dispute is resolved and the hearing officer’s decision is received.

For an initial CS-66, an Order to Withhold Earnings (Form CS-89) is generated to begin immediate wage withholding after the CS-66 becomes effective if the case meets withholding of earnings criteria.  For a modified CS-66, a CS-89 is generated to begin initiated wage with-holding after the CS-66 becomes effective if wage withholding is not in effect and the case meets withholding of earnings criteria.  If a CS-89 is in effect and the current support obligation has changed, a Change in Order to Withhold Earnings (Form CS-90) is generated.

For an initial CS-66, arrearages have not had time to accrue when a CS-89 is generated to begin immediate wage withholding.  For a modified CS-66, arrearages have had time to accrue when either a CS-89 or CS-90 is generated.   When current support and arrearages are owed and no judicial arrearage order exists, the arrearage payment is 25% of the obligation amount.  The arrearage payment is stated as a monthly amount for an administrative order.

17.100 CHANGE IN THE OBLIGATION AMOUNT DUE TO A NEW SUPPORT ORDER
Authority:  KRS Chapter 403.

KRS 403.211(9) requires that court orders include the Social Security numbers of all parties subject to a support order.  A case record must be updated upon receipt of a new, valid support order.  Policy concerning circuit and district court orders is contained in Handbook Section on Payee Conversion. (Until the Handbook Section on Payee Conversion is complete, refer to the Prosecutors’ Handbook and Operations Manual Sections 18.000.)  KASES is updated to reflect the information in the new, valid order.

If the new order is effective in a prior charge period, arrearages are recalculated and an adjustment is requested by sending a MAIL message to the Distribution Section (DS) in the Accounting Branch (AB).  A MAIL event is created and notes are attached to document the requested action.

If a new order affects more than one case, each affected case must be reviewed to determine changes needed for each.  If child support staff reviewing the new order finds that an affected case is located in another office, one of the following actions is taken.

If the new order is received for a case, a MAIL message is sent to responsible child support staff.  When a MAIL message is sent, a MAIL event is created with notes attached explaining what action has been requested in the MAIL message.


The MAIL message requests that the case(s) be reviewed to change the obligation and to determine whether arrearages for a prior charge period need adjustment.

If the new order does not make CHFS or the custodial parent through CHFS payee for support, then payee conversion action is taken.  

When an order not making CHFS payee is received, the process status is changed back to CONV.  The only exception is non-K-TAP cases.  These cases can be left in COLL status, as KASES does not charge for non-K-TAP cases in CONV status.

Child Support staff take the following actions when the obligation amount is changed by a new order.  These actions are completed when the order makes CHFS payee or when payee conversion action is needed.  If payee conversion action is taken, the following actions must have the same effective date as the Notice of Assignment or Authority to Collect (NAR).

If administrative income withholding is in effect, complete an Order/Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support (Form CS-89) to change the amount withheld for current support and, if necessary, the amount withheld for arrearages.

If more than one case is affected by a new order, complete only one CS-89 for all of the cases.  Complete the CS-89 manually and list the IV-D numbers for all affected cases.  Show the total obligation and arrearages owed for all the cases on the CS-89.

Generate a CS-89 for each case in order to create an event for each case.  Discard the system generated CS-89s.

If affected cases are located in other offices attach a copy of the manually completed CS-89 and a copy of the new order to a CS-15 and send the CS-15 to the responsible 

child support worker for the other case(s).  Explain on the CS-15 that the attachments need to be filed in the affected case(s).  Also request that responsible child support staff create a SELF event stating that a CS-89 was completed and include the effective date of the change.

If Unemployment Insurance benefits are being intercepted, review the obligation amount to determine if the intercepted amount needs to change.  If the intercepted amount needs to be changed, complete a new CS-76 according to the form’s procedural instructions.

NOTE:  A CS-76 is completed if the intercepted amount needs to change regardless of whether the order has caused the obligation to increase or decrease.  


If more than one case is affected by the order, complete only one CS-76 for all of the cases.  Show on the CS-76 the total arrearage owed for all the cases, the total amount to be intercepted, and all the IV-D numbers.


If affected cases are located in other offices, attach a copy of the CS-76 and the new order to a CS-15 and send the CS-15 to the responsible child support staff.  Explain the need to file the attached copies in the case record.  Also explain the need to create a SELF event indicating that a new CS-76 has been completed and give the effective date.

3.
If the change was effective in a prior charge period, calculate the difference between what was charged and what should have been charged.  Send an arrearage adjustment request to the appropriate adjustment accountant in the Distribution Section.


If more than one case is affected by a new order, review arrearages in all the cases to determine needed changes or adjustments on KASES.


If affected cases are located in other offices, send a CS-15 with a copy of the new order to responsible child support staff for the other affected case(s).  Request on the CS-15 that the case(s) be reviewed for needed changes or adjustments on KASES.

4.
Create a SELF event on KASES with notes attached in order to show all actions taken and all forms completed.

17.110 CHILD ADDED TO OR REMOVED FROM IV-D SERVICES 

A Notice of Monthly Support Obligation (Form CS-66) is completed when there is a continuing change in circumstances that change the monthly support obligation by 15% or more.  The obligation may need to be modified when a child is added to or removed from a case.  The CS-66 is completed when CHFS or the custodial parent through CHFS is payee for support. 

When a child leaves a IV-D case, or is added to a IV-D case the Guidelines are used to determine a new support order. 

If a child leaves a IV-D case and no longer receives IV-D services, CHFS cannot collect current support for that child.  The review is conducted by child support staff to determine the amount of support required by the Guidelines for the remaining number of children needing support.

Child support staff take the following actions when CHFS or the custodial parent through CHFS is payee for support and a child is added to or removed from a IV-D case.

1. 
Complete a MN or CS-66 according to its procedural instructions.  Make the MN or CS-66 effective for the date of the change or effective immediately if the change occurred in the past.

2. 
If administrative income withholding is in effect, complete a CS-89 to redirect the payment of current support for the child who has been added or removed.


If more than one case is affected by the change, complete only one CS-89 for all of the cases.  Complete the CS-89 manually and list the IV-D numbers for all affected cases.  Show the total obligation and arrearages owed for all of the cases on the CS-89.

Generate a CS-89 for each case in order to create an event for each case.  Discard the system generated CS-89s.

If affected cases are located in other offices attach a copy of the manually completed CS-89 to a CS-15 and send them to the responsible child support staff for the other case(s).  Explain on the CS-15(s) that the CS-89 needs to be filed in the affected case(s).  Request on the CS-15 that the responsible child support worker create a SELF event stating that a CS-89 was completed and include the effective date of the change.

3.
If a CS-76 is in effect, complete a new CS-76 changing the amount to be intercepted.  When the noncustodial parent or obligor returns the signed and notarized CS-76, fax a copy of the CS-76 to Debbie Wash, Division of Unemployment Insurance at 502-564-1892.


NOTE:  A CS-76 is completed regardless of whether the change has caused the obligation to increase or decrease.  If the noncustodial parent or obligor does not sign and return the new CS-76, an NOC is completed.


If the addition or removal of a child affects more than one case, complete only one CS-76 for all of the cases.  The CS-76 shows the total arrearage owed for all the cases, the total amount to be intercepted, and all the IV-D numbers.


If the affected cases are located in other offices, attach a copy of the CS-76 to a CS-15 and send them to the responsible child support staff.  Explain on the CS-15 the need to file the attached CS-76 in the case record.  Explain the need to create a SELF event and attach notes stating that a new CS-76 was completed and include the effective date.

4.
If the child was added or removed in a prior charge period, calculate the difference between what was charged and what should have been charged.  Send an arrearage adjustment request to the appropriate adjustment accountant in the Distribution Section in the Accounting Branch.

5.
Create a SELF event on KASES and describe in the notes attached to the event all actions taken and all forms completed.

17.120 CHILD TRANSFERRED 
Material in this subsection describes case actions from the perspective that child support staff who receive the referral for the transferred child will identify the transfer of a child from one case to another.

"To" Case Responsibilities
The following actions are taken by the "to" KASES county child support staff when the referral for the transferred child is received.

1.
Create on KASES any participant who does not exist on KASES but who is included in the referral.

2.
If the child has transferred to an existing case, reactivate the child if the child was previously inactivated or add the child to the case.  Update participant information as needed.


If there is no existing case, create a new case by linking the participants included in the referral.

3.
Send a MAIL message to the responsible child support staff for the "from" case requesting that a MN or CS-66 be completed.  Also request the following, as appropriate:

a copy of all relevant support orders,

a copy of all income withholding orders,

a copy of all NARs and VNs,

a copy of the CS-76 or NOC if UI intercept is in effect, and

a copy of the MN or CS-66 after it has been completed.

4.
Create a SELF event on KASES and attach notes in order to show all actions taken.

No further action can be taken until the copy of the MN is received.  When the "to" KASES county child support staff receive the CS-15 with the attachments listed in Item 3, they review the MN or CS-66 and update support order information on KASES as needed.

If appropriate, the "to" KASES county child support staff sends a MAIL message to DS requesting that arrearages in the "to" case be adjusted.  The caseworker specifies the amount by which the arrearages need to be increased or decreased.  The caseworker also creates a MAIL event and attaches notes describing all actions taken and requested.

"From" Case Responsibilities
Upon receipt of the MAIL message from the responsible worker for the "to" case, the responsible worker for the "from" case takes the following actions.

1.
Deactivate the child participant.

2.
Complete a MN or CS-66.  Prorate the total obligation to determine the amount CHFS will collect for each case.  Make the MN or CS-66 effective with the date of the change or effective immediately if the change occurred in the past.

3.
Send a CS-15 to the responsible worker for the "to" case and attach the following, as appropriate:

a copy of all relevant support orders,

a copy of all income withholding orders,

a copy of all NARs and VNs,

a copy of the CS-76 or NOC if UI intercept is in effect, and

a copy of the MN or CS-66.


NOTE:  Money will be posted to the noncustodial parent or obligor’s Social Security number and KASES will allocate payments between multiple IV-D cases per 45 CFR § 303.100(a)(5) and KRS 405.467(7).

Send a MAIL message to DS specifying the amount by which arrearages in the "from" case are to be adjusted for the period after the effective date of the child's transfer.


Include in the MAIL message a request that the transferred child's portion of any support posted to the "from" case after the effective date of the child's transfer be adjusted from KASES and posted to the "to" case.  Also create a MAIL event and attach notes to document the adjustment request.

6.
Create a SELF event on KASES and attach notes in order to show all actions taken.

17.130 MARRIED MINOR CHILD/DIVORCED MINOR CHILD

Authority:  KRS Chapter 205 and KRS Chapter 403.

KRS 205.710(4) defines a dependent or needy dependent child as any person under the age of eighteen (18), or under the age of nineteen (19) if in high school, who is not otherwise emancipated, self-supporting, married, or a member of the Armed Forces of the United States and is a recipient of or applicant for services under Part D of Title IV of the Social Security Act.  

KRS 403.213(3) states: “Unless otherwise agreed in writing or expressly provided in the decree, provisions for the support of a child shall be terminated by emancipation of the child unless the child is a high school student when he reaches the age of eighteen (18). In cases

where the child becomes emancipated because of age, but not due to marriage, while still a high school student, the court-ordered support shall continue while the child is a high school student, but not beyond completion of the school year during which the child reaches the age of nineteen (19) years. Provisions for the support of the child shall not be terminated by the death of a parent obligated to support the child. If a parent obligated to pay support dies, the amount of support may be modified, revoked, or commuted to a lump-sum payment, to the extent just and appropriate in the circumstances. Emancipation of the child shall not terminate the obligation of child support arrearages that accrued while the child was an unemancipated minor.”

A married minor is considered emancipated under Kentucky law and should not be included in a public assistance referral.  A minor already in a IV-D case who marries must be removed from the case.  The minor's marriage ends the noncustodial parent or obligor's duty of support for that child, however, emancipation of the child shall not terminate the obligation of child support arrearages that accrued while the child was an unemancipated minor.
If a parent obligated to pay support dies, the amount of support may be modified, revoked, or commuted to a lump-sum payment, to the extent just and appropriate in the circumstances.  
If the order is not for a per child amount, the case must be reviewed for possible modification based on the remaining number of children needing support.  For additional information on Review and Modification, see Handbook Section on, Review and Modification of Support Orders for Kentucky IV-D Orders, or if an out-of-state order, see Handbook Subsection on, Interstate/Central Registry.  If the review indicates that a change in the obligation is needed, the case is reviewed by appropriate child support staff or referred to the responding state for possible modification.  (Until the above referenced Handbook Section is published, please refer to the Operations’ Manual or Prosecutors’ Handbook.)

If a divorced minor is added back to a K-TAP case, it is DCS's policy that child support action not be taken on the child's behalf.  The divorced minor's participant status is left inactive.  A note is created at the case event level indicating that although the divorced minor is again receiving K-TAP, child support action is not being taken because a child who becomes emancipated cannot return to the “minor” status.
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