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MS 1050 FREQUENTLY USED TERMS (@D)
Several terms are frequently used in connection with SNAP work registration and
ETP. These items are detailed here and are used without further explanation
throughout this volume.

1. ABAWD Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents

2. DCBS Department for Community Based Services

3. ETP Employment and Training Program

[4. GED General Education Development

57 IPV Intentional Program Violation

6. KTAP Kentucky Transitional Assistance Program

7. KAMES Kentucky Automated Management Eligibility System
8. KWP Kentucky Works Program

9. KYIMS Kentucky Information Management System

10. NAB Nutrition Assistance Branch

11. OJT On the Job Training

12. OTIS Online Tracking Information System

13. SSi Supplemental Security Income
14. SSA Social Security Administration

15. TAA Trade Adjustment Assistance

16. UIB Unemployment Insurance Benefits
17. VES Vocational Education Skills

18. WEP Work Experience Program
19. [WIOA Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act]

20. WPP WEP Placement Pending
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MS 1100 OVERVIEW (1)

A. Work registration is a technical eligibility factor for participation in the
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). Every able-bodied
household member age 18-59, must work register unless otherwise exempt. In
some situations head of household members age 16 or 17 may be required to
work register.

B. Nonexempt members are work registered annually at application,
recertification, or member add.

[Work registration is completed annually (12 months). Ineligibility of the
member or correct discontinuance of the member's case for any reason does
not void the member's work registration, as the member is registered with the
Office of Employment and Training (OET) and will continue to be registered
with OET for 12 months. The member is considered work registered once
confirmation of work registration is received from OET. The member who is
required to register for work or the person making application can agree to
register the member for work; however, each member is responsible for
completing the on-line registration with OET for themselves.]

C. Excluded household members are required to register for work unless
otherwise exempt. This includes ineligible aliens, members who are serving an
IPV disqualification or individuals removed from the case for failure to provide
a verified Social Security number.

D. In selected counties, some work registrants are required to participate in work
activities in order to be eligible for benefits.
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MS 1550 WORK REGISTRATION PROCEDURES 1)
A. [At initial application, reapplication, recertification, member add or case

change, determine which household members are required to register for
employment. A member is required to work register annually unless
participation is interrupted by discontinuance, ineligibility or a change in the
member's exemption status.

If a member is required to register for work, an RFI will be issued advising
the household. The RFI will instruct the member to register for work on the
Office of Employment and Training’s (OET) website or in a local OET office.
When a member work registers they will fill out a resume on the OET
program, Focus. When the resume is finished, the client is required to print
the resume review screen to turn in as verification of registering to work.

The household is required to provide verification of each member’s work
registration. The worker will process the verification by accessing the work
registration screen in the application.

If a member agrees to register for work:

1. Explain and provide form FSET-101, SNAP Employment and Training Fact
Sheet, to the member at application, member add and at each
recertification. This form explains work registration requirements,
participant expenses, component choices, the recipient's rights and
responsibilities, and the consequences of failure to comply with work
registration requirements. Document comments with information, such
as refusal of a member to work register or the reason a currently
registered member becomes exempt.

2. Active members must not be registered more than once in a 12-month
period.

3. If an expedited member refuses to work register due to disability,
indicate that the member has a disability pending in order for the
application to be approved with postponed verification. This will also
prevent the member from being disqualified pending postponed
verification.

4. If the head of household refuses to register for work, answer “No” to
indicate that the member is not agreeing to work register on the
Expedited question screen, as this makes the household ineligible for
expedited service.

If the household's benefits were incorrectly terminated and a reinstatement is
completed through the case change or application process, DO NOT change
the ORIGINAL work registration date. This includes members who were
incorrectly discontinued and were reinstated per instructions from the Division
of Family Support.]
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MS 1555 [SNAP WORK REGISTRATION FOR KTAP APPLICANTS] )

[Recipients are required to meet SNAP work registration requirements until the
KTAP application is approved or denied. The following procedures explain how this
is accomplished.

A. If the mandatory work registrant has a KTAP application pending:
1. Answer "Yes" to indicate that the member agrees to work register; and
2. Select “Pending” as the work registration status.
Explain to the household, that if the KTAP application is not approved and a
member is not otherwise exempt, that the member will have to register for
work in order to not have a disqualification and be eligible for SNAP.

B. When the KTAP application is approved prior to disposal of the SNAP action,
the SNAP member’s information will be updated by the system as it will

recognize that the member is now exempt.

C. When the KTAP application is denied prior to the disposal of the SNAP action,
the member will be required to register for work.

D. When the SNAP application is disposed prior to the KTAP application, process a
case change to update the SNAP member’s information.]
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MS 1650 EXEMPTIONS (1)

Exempt the following household members from work registration. If the exemption
is questionable require verification.

A. Persons age 17 or under as follows:

1. Persons under 16 years of age. If the child's 16th birthday falls within a
certification period, the child is registered for work at the next scheduled
recertification, unless qualified for another exemption.

If the child's 16th birthday is on the first day of the new certification
period, do not delay work registration. Work register the member during
the last month of the current certification period with an effective date of
the first month of the new certification period. If the child's 16th birthday
is on ANY OTHER day of the month, wait until the next scheduled
recertification to complete work registration;

2. A 16 or 17 year old who is NOT the head of household; or

3. The 16 or 17 year old head of household who is attending school or
enrolled in an employment and training program at least half time.

B. Persons who are 60 years of age or older.

C. [Persons who are physically or mentally unfit. If a mental or physical disability
is claimed and the disability is NOT evident, verification is required. Answer
“YES” to the gatepost question which asks if anyone is incapacitated or unable
to work. Request verification if not provided. Document the case record
concerning the verification used to support the member's determination of
disability. Appropriate verification consists of but is not limited to:

1. Receipt of temporary or permanent disability benefits including SSI or
SSA; or

2. A statement or form FS-704, Statement of Disability or Incapacity, from a
physician, a licensed certified psychologist, a chiropractor who is licensed
by the Kentucky State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, a social worker,
or a certified, licensed health professional commenting on a disability
within the realm of his expertise.

A chronically homeless person may be considered physically or mentally unfit
if:

1. The person has been continuously homeless for a year or more; and
2. It is obvious to the worker that the person is unfit for work.
D. All adult KTAP recipients. These members are required to participate in KWP

unless otherwise exempt. However, members who apply for SNAP and KTAP
simultaneously must work register to meet the SNAP requirements. This
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exemption cannot be used to cure a disqualification imposed because the
member failed to comply with KWP or UIB work requirements.]

E. A parent or other household member who is ACTUALLY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE
CARE of:

1. A dependent child UNDER six. If the child's sixth birthday falls within a
certification period, the individual responsible for the care of the child is
registered for work at the next scheduled recertification; or

2. An incapacitated person. The case record must contain verification from a
certified medical provider that the incapacitated individual requires care
from the person seeking the exemption.

Item E. 1 or 2 applies even if the child or incapacitated person is NOT a
household member in the SNAP case.

Example: John lives with his Aunt Susie and her 4 yr old daughter, Kelly.
They request and are eligible for separate household status. John babysits
Kelly while Aunt Suzie works full time. John is exempt work registration due to
care of child under age 6.

F. Persons in receipt of UIB or who have applied for but have not yet begun to
receive UIB. If the member appeals a UIB denial, they remain exempt work
registration during the appeal process.

G. A regular participant in drug addiction or alcoholic treatment and rehabilitation
program. Regular participation is both determined and verified by the center.

H. Persons employed or self-employed, including in-kind income, who are working
a minimum of 30 hours per week or have earnings at least equal to the Federal
minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours. This includes migrant and seasonal
farmworkers under contract or similar agreement with an employer or crew
chief to begin employment within 30 days.

I. Persons enrolled at least half-time in any recognized school, training program,
or institution of higher education, provided that person meets the conditions of
being an eligible student. This includes aliens who are participating in training
programs approved, funded or authorized by the Office of Refugee
Resettlement. This does not include members enrolled in a GED, Adult Basic
Education, Literacy Program, Vocational Education program, or institution of
higher education through placement by ETP.

A student remains exempt during normal periods of class attendance, vacation
and recess unless the student graduates, is suspended or expelled, drops out,
or does not intend to register for the next normal school term excluding
summer school.

Persons who are not enrolled at least half-time or who experience a break in
their enrollment status due to graduation, expulsion, suspension or who drop
out or otherwise do not intend to return to school are NOT considered students
for the purpose of qualifying for this exemption.
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J. Household members who are applying jointly for SSI and SNAP through the
SSA office have requirements for work registration waived until:

1. They are determined eligible for SSI and thereby become exempt from
work registration; or

2. They are determined ineligible for SSI and, where appropriate, a
determination of their work registration status occurs at the next
certification action.

K. [Work registration exemption at application/recertification and member add is
determined by the system based on how applicable questions are answered. It
is very important that each member’s information is carefully reviewed at each
case action that may affect work registration status.]
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MS 1700 LOSS OF EXEMPTION &)

When a work registration exemption no longer exists do the following:

A.

Individuals who lose work registration exemption status due to any change in
circumstances are required to register for employment at the time the change
is reported.

[The member is considered work registered when the work registration is
confirmed by the Office of Employment Training (OET).]

Recipients who lose work registration exemption may also be subject to
additional work requirements if he/she is an ABAWD. Review each
member’s information screens when work registering the member to ensure
ABAWD status is correctly determined based on system entries.

When a change is reported that results in a loss of SNAP work registration
exemption, the member must be work registered according to the following:

1. [If the change in work registration status is reported in person or phone,
by either the household member required to register or by another
member who is willing to register the individual, explain that the member
must work register through OET and document case comments.

2. If a household reports a loss of work registration exemption and the
member required to register is unavailable and another member is
unwilling to register the individual:

a. Answer "No" that the member does not agree to register.

b. Enter the work registration status as “Pending” so the system will
pend the change for 10 days and produces an RFI requesting the
member register for work.

c. If the member fails to register by the end of the 10 day period
the member will be disqualified and a notice will be generated to
inform the member of the disqualification. If the member registers
for work within the 10-day timely notice period, adverse action is
avoided.]



Volume I1A OMTL-386
[SNAP Work Requirements] R. 5/1/11

MS 1705 LOSS OF EXEMPTION FOR 18-YEAR-OLDS &)
[When a child in a SNAP case turns 18 years old during the certification period,

the member must be work registered as part of the next scheduled
recertification process, unless the member qualifies for another exemption.]
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MS 1750

CHANGE IN EXEMPTION Q)

Work registered members who are required to comply with work
requirements, are not subject to those requirements if the member
becomes EXEMPT from work registration, unless K-TAP or UIB
noncompliance is involved. Refer to MS 4500.

Members whose change in age exempts them from work registration
requirements are exempted at the household’s next recertification,
unless another change is reported which is subject to reporting
requirements.
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MS 2000 ABAWD OVERVIEW Q)

[The following provides a general overview of the work requirements for ABAWDs.

A.

ABAWDs are able-bodied individuals between 18-49 years of age who do not
have a person under age 18 as a member of their SNAP household. For this
policy a dependent child is defined as a person under age 18 who is a member
of the SNAP household. ABAWDs are exempt from these provisions when they
reach age 50.

ABAWDs may receive benefits for 3 months, consecutive or otherwise within a
36-month period, if not in compliance with work requirements. ABAWD
provisions became effective 12/1/96.

The system tracks the compliant and noncompliant months for participants
who must meet these requirements. A compliant month is a month in which
an ABAWD is either exempt as specified in MS 2105 or by complying with the
requirements as specified in MS 2100. A noncompliant month is a month in
which an ABAWD is not exempt and not meeting the requirements. This is
considered a BA month. In addition, an ABAWD can receive bonus months
after accumulating 3 noncompliant (BA) months as specified in MS 2750. Pro-
rated months DO NOT count as a BA month.]
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MS 2100 ABAWD WORK REQUIREMENTS (&)

A. [ABAWDs must comply with specific eligibility criteria and provide verification if
required, to maintain eligibility for SNAP benefits. To be eligible the ABAWD
must:

1. Be exempt from ABAWD work requirements due to residing in an ABAWD
waiver county;

2. Be working 80 hours per month. The employment can be working for
money (this includes self-employment), in-kind work or unpaid
(volunteer) work, or any combination of these. This would also include
when someone works for rent instead of paying. The hours of in-
kind/unpaid income must be verified. Individuals on strike or on
temporary layoff are not considered employed. ABAWDs who are on sick
leave from a job, whether paid or unpaid, are in compliance as long as
they continue to be considered an employee of the business;

3. Participate at least 20 hours per week in a work program funded by WIOA
or TAA. Households are required to report within 10 days any change in
work hours that brings them below the required 20 hours per week.
Participation verification is required; or

4. Participate in and comply with the requirements of WEP or VES. WEP and
VES are components of ETP. Verification is required.

B. Nonexempt ABAWDs who fail to comply with the above requirements
accumulate noncompliant months. An ABAWD can accumulate only 3
noncompliant months in a 36 month period before becoming ineligible for
benefits. Noncompliant months are not to be confused with months in which
an ABAWD is disqualified due to not complying with the ETP work
requirements.

C. ABAWDs are assigned compliant months if exempt from ABAWD provisions or
in compliance with ABAWD requirements.

D. The following procedures apply to system questions related to determining
ABAWD eligibility.

1. Verification of ABAWD eligibility questions is optional. If not verified, the
case does not deny or discontinue solely for lack of this verification. At
the end of the timely processing timeframe the case will process without
this verification and any month for which ABAWD eligibility is not
established is considered a noncompliant month.

2. Hours will be systematically converted in order to determine if the
member is working 80 hours or more/month.

3. When self-employment, farm or earned income is end-dated, review the
case for ABAWD bonus period eligibility.

E. Ineligible aliens are not required to cooperate with ABAWD activities.]
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MS 2105 ABAWD EXEMPTIONS Q)

This policy only applies to ABAWD determination and exemptions and DOES NOT
apply to normal work registration requirements. See MS 1650 for work registration
exemptions.

SNAP recipients are not ABAWDs or are exempt from ABAWD requirements if the
member is:

A. Exempt from work registration as specified in MS 1650;

B. Age 17 and under or age 50 and older. Changes in age which result in a
change in ABAWD status are handled as outlined in MS 1750;

C. [An adult household member living in a household with members under age 18
including the spouse of the member;

D. Verified as pregnant; or
E. Living in a waived county.
Ensure that ABAWD exemption policy is applied correctly by reviewing applicable

questions on the system for the appropriate response and the EDG. Do this prior to
disposing all case actions.]
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MS 2250 COMPONENTS (1)

There are two ETP components: The Work Experience Program (WEP) and
Vocational Education Skills (VES).

A.

[WEP: The goal of this component is to assist participant’s transition from
unpaid to paid employment. In addition, it provides on the job experience for
participants. Participation is required on a year-round basis to meet ABAWD
provisions. The ETP worker develops WEP slots with public and private non-
profit agencies. Complete form KWET-241, WEP Training Site Agreement,
when a participant is placed at a WEP site. Encourage ABAWDs to choose this
component if they are not otherwise meeting work requirements.]

1. WEP participants must complete an initial 30-day job search prior to
placement at a WEP site. Participants who fail to comply with the 30-day
job search are considered not compliant and are subject to
disqualification.

2. WEP participants do not receive wages. The value of their SNAP allotment
is worked off in lieu of wages.

3. Each ABAWD is responsible for earning his/her own share of the SNAP
allotment.

4. The minimum monthly number of hours that each WEP participant is
required to volunteer shall be determined by:

a. Dividing the SNAP allotment by the number of ABAWDS who are
subject to the work requirement; and

b. Comparing the individual pro-rata share of the SNAP allotment to
the chart below.

PRO-RATA SHARE OF NUMBER OF HOURS

ALLOTMENT REQUIRED TO WORK PER
MONTH

$0 through 49 5 hours;

$50 through 99 10 hours;

$100 through 149 | 15 hours;

$150 through 199 | 25 hours;

$200 through 249 | 30 hours;

$250 through 299 |35 hours;

$300 through 349 | 40 hours;
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$350 through 399 | 50 hours;
$400 through 449 | 55 hours;
$450 through 499 | 65 hours;
$500 through 549 | 70 hours;
$550 through 599 | 75 hours;

$600 through 649 | 85 hours;

$650 through 699 | 90 hours;

$700 through 749 | 100 hours;

$750 through 799 | 105 hours; and

$800 and up | 110 hours

[ABAWDs must participate in WEP. ABAWDs who refuse a WEP placement
are considered to be in noncompliance and are subject to disqualification.
ABAWDs who wish to sign up for VES must participate in WEP until they
can enter VES training.]

The WEP component lasts for 12 months; unless the ABAWD enters VES,
becomes otherwise exempt from ABAWD requirements or meets ABAWD
requirements in another way. At the end of the 12th month, review
KWET-241 with the WEP site agency to determine if the agency wants to
continue to provide a placement for the participant. If the placement will
continue, complete a new KWET-241.

The Department for Community Based Services carries accident insurance
on WEP participants. Refer to Volume I11A, MS 4300.

B. [VES: This component is offered to build skills that lead to full-time
employment. The nature of the training course determines the length of
participation. VES is a referral for the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity
Act (WIOA) related or vocational training courses for ABAWDSs. ]

1.

Participation in a vocational school must be a minimum of 20 hours per
week. If the ABAWD does not complete 20 hours per week they are not
in compliance. However, if the ABAWD is assignhed a course for less than
20 hours, the ABAWD can participate in WEP to make up the difference.
The VES component can last from 9 to 12 months.

[ABAWDs who select the VES component must complete the 30-day job
search and are placed in WEP until they actually begin classes. Once VES
is completed, the ABAWD is returned to the WEP component, unless
otherwise exempt or meeting ABAWD requirements.
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If a WIOA funded training course is not available, make a direct referral to
the vocational school in order for the participant to apply for financial aid.
Contact the local vocational schools to determine the deadline for financial
aid applications.]

To avoid interruption in vocational training, participants in VES are not
required to keep a face-to-face follow-up interview. The required
verification of participation may be mailed each month to the ETP worker.

VES placement procedures:

a. [Ensure that the ABAWD is referred for WIOA certification if
appropriate. Follow procedures outlined by the local workforce
investment area concerning WIOA certification. Contact the local
Department for Workforce Investment office for the nearest agent.
If WIOA funding is not available in your county, refer the ABAWD
directly to the vocational school.]

b. Complete form FSET-104, SNAP Employment and Training Referral.

C. Explain to the participant the requirements for form FSET-145,
Employment and Training Program Activity Report, and the mailing
procedures for the follow-up review.

d. If form FSET-104 is returned stating that the participant cannot be
enrolled, the participant remains in WEP.
e. If form FSET-104 is returned indicating enrollment, change the

WEP component to VES.

[Document all actions on the Activity Progress Screen.]
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MS 2300 ABAWD TRACKING (&)

[All questions relating to ABAWD policy must be answered accurately and entered
timely to monitor work requirement compliance. Statistics are accumulated based
on system entries.

A. ABAWD compliance is internally tracked based on responses to the member's
information questions. Compliant and noncompliant months are tracked based
on the data entered for each member. The member will not appear on
tracking for any month in which the member is disqualified due to not meeting
ETP work requirements as the member will not be active.

B. ABAWD tracking codes are system applied. They are as follows:

AD Individual is age 60 or older;

AG Exempt for Individual less than 16 years old;

AH Exempt for 16 or 17 year old that is not head of household;

AO Individual needs to work register during next recertification;

AS Exempt for 16 or 17 year old that attends school or employment
training program at least half time;

BA Noncompliant ABAWD Month;

BM Bonus Month;

CC Cares for a dependent child under 18 years old;

Cl Cares for an incapacitated individual in home;

0. DA Participant in drug addiction or alcoholic treatment and rehabilitation

program;

11. DI Disabled individual;

12. ER Exempt from Work Registration;

13. FP Living in a 15% exemption county;

14. KT Receives KTAP;

15. OT Other;

16. PC Providing care for a child under age 6;

17. PG Pregnant;

18. PM Prorated Month;

19. SA SNAP application received from SSA;

20. Sl Receiving SSI/RSDA benefits;

21. SS Student Status;

22. UD Appealing UIB;

23. Ul Applied for/receiving UIB;

24. VE VES component;

25. WC Living in a Waiver County exempt from ABAWD requirements;

26. WE Work Experience Program; and

27. WF Works 80 hours per month;

ahODdE

HBOONO

C. An ABAWD tracking code is assigned for every SNAP recipient age 18- 49,
regardless of the county of residence, each time the case is recalculated.
These codes are collected when that month's benefits are issued. It may be
necessary to change the tracking code because of information received at a
later date.

When a recipient reports or you otherwise become aware of an ongoing change
in ABAWD eligibility:



MS 2300 2)

1. Enter the appropriate information for the member on the system. This
ensures that the correct tracking code is assigned for future months.]

2. Determine when the ABAWD change took place.

a. Review the ABAWD tracking code already system-assigned for that
time period.

b. The Field Services Supervisor or principal worker manually corrects
the tracking code as needed.

D. [After each issuance, a tracking code is accumulated for that benefit month.
Non-complaint months can be viewed through “Individual Summary”

To change or add a non-complaint month, select “Manage ABAWD Months” and
add the month.]
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A. Review all reported household changes for possible impact on ABAWD status.

Changes which can alter ABAWD status are:
1. Beginning or ending pregnancy;
2. Gained or lost employment;

3. Beginning or ending participation or reducing the number of hours of
participation in WEP or VES;

4. Change in work registration exemption status;

5. Change in age, older than 49;

6. Change in member under age 18 moving in or out of the household;
7. Move to an exempt or nonexempt county;

8. Temporary or permanent disability begins or ends; and

9. Reduction in the number of hours worked to less than 20 weekly.

Changes in ABAWD status must be acted on promptly once they become
known to the Agency.

Process changes which affect ABAWD eligibility as follows:

1. At recertification, review ABAWD requirements with the recipient. ldentify
any changes in ABAWD status, which have occurred since the last
interview;

2. [Enter known and reported changes in the SNAP case and update the
appropriate questions for the member on the system. This ensures that
the system assigns the correct tracking code for future months; and]

3. Determine the date of the change.

a. Review the ABAWD Tracking Report to ensure system-assigned
tracking codes are correct for the time period in question.

b. Change the tracking code for noncompliant or compliant months, as
needed. Only the Field Services Supervisor or principal caseworker
can manually correct the tracking code.

c. Document the case record for review purposes.

[ABAWD status codes MUST be corrected for the month the change occurred.
Status changes can be made anytime for any month during the 36-month
tracking period. Go to the Individual Summary page for the member and click
on “Manage ABAWD Months” to make needed corrections.
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Example: ABAWD reports at 3/08 recertification interview that a 13-year-old
child has moved into the household 2/20/08. February becomes a compliant
month and the member is exempt from ABAWD work requirements for as long
as this situation exists, or until the child turns 18. Access the member’s
ABAWD months off of the Individual Summary page and correct the member's
tracking code for February.]

D. Change in the tracking code which changes a month from a compliant month
to a noncompliant month may result in member ineligibility.

If the tracking code is the only change and the change does not affect ongoing
eligibility, the case does not pend for adverse action. However, the case does
pend for adverse action if an ABAWD becomes ineligible and there are less
than 10 days left in the month.

EXAMPLE: At application in 9/08, a member is credited with being employed
20 hours per week. In 2/09 at the recertification interview it is discovered that
the member was fired in 12/08. He did not work at least 80 hours in 12/08
and did not otherwise meet ABAWD requirements. When the tracking codes for
12/08, 1/09 and 2/09 are corrected to reflect noncompliance, the member
becomes ineligible for SNAP effective 3/09, unless otherwise exempt.
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MS 2355 RETURNING ABAWD (1)
[Returning ABAWDSs are processed as follows:
A. This involves ABAWDs who:
1. Reapply or are added to a SNAP case;
2. Already have 2 noncompliant (BA) months; and
3. The application/member add month is the third BA.
B. If you have this case situation, the member will be determined an eligible

ABAWD for the application/member add month and removed effective the next
administratively feasible month.]
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MS 2450 OUT OF STATE ABAWD Q)

Do the following for household members subject to ABAWD requirements if they
received SNAP in another state:

A. Contact the other state(s) concerning the member's ABAWD status. Any
month in the last 36 months for which the individual received SNAP must be
determined as a compliant, noncompliant or bonus month as follows:

1. Send form PAFS-28, Out-of-State Inquiry, or contact the agency by
phone;

2. Determine if the applicant received SNAP for any month in the last 36
months, and was not exempt from ABAWD requirements;

3. Accept the other state's documentation. It is the responsibility of the
other state to verify the member's ABAWD status; and

4. Document the case record thoroughly.

B. [Update the ABAWD’s months on the system to reflect the information
provided by the out-of-state agency. Go to the Individual Summary page for
the member and click on “Manage ABAWD Months” to make updates.]

C. If the other state refuses to supply this information, contact NAB and provide
the address and phone number of the out-of-state agency.

D. Do not hold the application pending past the 30 day timeframe to verify
noncompliant months. Assume compliance and correct the member's tracking
report when verification is received from the out-of-state agency.
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MS 2500 PROCEDURES FOR NON-EXEMPT ABAWD @)

[The following are the procedures for when an individual who is a non-exempt
ABAWD applies for SNAP.

A. The individual must agree to be assessed at the time of application.

1. Assess the ABAWD for job readiness and explain the employability plan.
Update the member’s “Activity Progress.” Enter the participant’'s job or
vocational goal, and anticipated expenses. If the assessment is done via
phone, have the individual sign the form in person or via Voice Signhature.

2. Provide forms FSET-101, SNAP Employment and Training Fact Sheet, and
FS-500.1, Able-Bodied Adults without Dependents-Fact Sheet.

3. Explain the ABAWD requirements, including Job Search and WEP/VES
placement, to the individual. In addition, explain that form FSET-108, Job
Search Contact Report, will when the case is approved.

4. Explain that individuals are eligible for a transportation payment up to
$25 based on anticipated expenses. Client statement is accepted as
verification of the amount. The transportation payment is issued in
advance. Transportation payments are issued as a manual issuance from
Benefit Management.

5. Advise the individual that failure to comply with the ABAWD requirements
will result in a disqualification.

B. The assessment can only be completed by the individual for whom it is
required. The head of household or authorized representative cannot
complete the assessment for members that are not present either in the office
or on the phone.

The assessment must be mailed for completion by members who are not
available to complete it at the time of certification or case change via form
FSET-614, Counseling Record/Employability Plan. Forms FSET-614 and FSET-
108 are issued to those members once the case is approved.

When form FSET-614 is returned, update the assessment by clicking the ETP
Assessment button on the member’s Individual Summary screen.

C. The individual must make 12 job contacts within 30 days and document the
contacts on form FSET-108. The ABAWD is in compliance during the 30-day
job search. The system will schedule a follow-up appointment for 30 days
from the date that the application is approved. Each member must provide
the form at the follow-up appointment.

D. The transportation payment up to $25 is based on anticipated participation
expenses.
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E.

If the individual fails to keep the follow-up appointment or to provide a
completed form FSET-108, initiate conciliation. Refer to MS 3700 for
conciliation procedures.

If the individual keeps the follow-up appointment, review form FSET-108 to
verify WEP compliance. Randomly select at least one job contact to verify that
the ABAWD made contact with an employer. If a job contact cannot be
verified, initiate conciliation.

During this follow-up appointment, if the individual is not currently working or
not ABAWD exempt for any other reason, have the individual sign form KWET-
241, WEP Training Site Agreement, and refer the individual to WEP work sites
or VES providers. Issue a transportation payment up to $25 based on
anticipated participation expenses for the next month.

1. Access Benefit Management to determine the amount of benefits received
by the household and refer to Volume IIA, MS 2250 to determine the
number of hours required for the individual(s) to participate in WEP.

2. Give and review with the ABAWD form FSET-145, Employment and
Training Program Activity Report. Ensure that the ABAWD understands
that the form must be completed correctly each month to remain in
compliance with ABAWD policy and to receive up to $25 transportation
payment.

3. Once the KWET-241 has been signed by the training site representative
and the WEP placement is completed, an FSET-145 will be system
generated each month to track compliance.

4. If the ABAWD is in compliance each month, authorize a transportation
payment up to $25 based on anticipated expenses for the next month
within 7 work days.

If the individual is currently working 80 hours or more per month at the first
follow-up appointment, and once the worker verifies the number of hours, the
member will be exempt from ABAWD provisions. When doing this change, the
ABAWD questions must be updated to show the exemption.

If at any time, an ABAWD becomes noncompliant, initiate conciliation.

Update the “Activity Progress” screen with all case actions.

Complete member adds as follows:

1. If the ABAWD is in the office, complete the assessment; or

2. If the household requests an ABAWD member added over the phone,
complete the member add and generate the assessment, FSET-108,
FSET-101 and FS 500.1. The assessment must be returned within 10
days. If the assessment is returned timely, the system will automatically

schedule a follow up appointment for 30 days from the date the signed
assessment is received. During this 30 day period, the member must
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complete the job search. The member can come in any time between
receiving the FSET-108 and the 30 day follow up appointment if they have
completed the job search.

3. If the member keeps the appointment, update “Activity Progress” screen
and print it off for signature. Issue a transportation payment of up to $25.

4. Repeat steps F-K.

L.] If the application is denied, no further action is required.
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MS 2550 GOOD CAUSE DETERMINATION &)

When a member fails to comply with a work related requirement, determine if the
member has good cause.

[Good cause exists when circumstances beyond the member’s control prevent
compliance. Good cause can only last 30 days. If good cause is expected to last
less than 30 days, this short term status must be re-evaluated at the end of 30
days. If the member's circumstances require good cause placement for more than
30 days, review the member's work registration status for possible exemption.]

Accept the member’s statement for verification unless questionable. Good cause
circumstances include but are not limited to the following:

1. llIness or incapacity of the member;
2. lliness of another household member, requiring the presence of the member;
3. A household emergency;

4. Unavailability of transportation, with no other readily accessible alternative
means of transportation;

5. Lack of adequate child care for children ages 6-12;
6. Inclement weather which prevents the participant from traveling;
7. Temporary incarceration or court appearance; or

8. [Excessive expense for transportation. Refer to MS 2600 for determination
procedures.

When an ABAWD has good cause for failure to fulfill the required number of hours
in a given month, that month is NOT considered a noncompliant (BA) month.]
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MS 2600 TRANSPORTATION “EXCESSIVE EXPENSE” &)
GOOD CAUSE EXEMPTION

Short-term good cause from ETP participation for excessive transportation expense
is possible if the verified monthly expense exceeds the allowable transportation
amount of $25. The following procedures are to be applied before determination of
excess transportation expense is made:

A. At the 30-day job search follow-up appointment, the worker determines if
there are any barriers to the ABAWD member participating further in an ETP
component. If the member states he/she is not able to participate due to
excessive transportation expenses, the worker does the following:

1. Request verification from the member that the cost to participate in an
ETP component will exceed the allowable $25 transportation amount. This
can be done by client statement if there is no reason to doubt.

2. If good cause is granted, the member is exempt from ABAWD
requirements for 30 days.

[3. This good cause reason is considered temporary until a suitable
component is available, or the individual finds work to meet the 20-hour
per week ABAWD requirement. Advise the member to report if his/her
circumstances change.

B. On the 15™ of each month the system will check to see if any member with
this good cause has a current system-applied excessive expense month. If a
member does have an excessive expense month, the system will automatically
recalculate to determine the appropriate tracking code for that member.]
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MS 2700 ABAWD NONCOMPLIANCE &)
A. Noncompliant (BA) months accumulate when the member is NOT meeting

ABAWD work requirements. Pro-rated months are not counted as a
noncompliant month. A month in which an ABAWD is disqualified for not
meeting the ETP work requirement is not counted as a noncompliant month as
the member is not active.

1. [ABAWDs who accumulate 3 BA months within a 36-month period are
ineligible for future benefits unless the member complies or becomes
exempt from ABAWD requirements. BA months do not have to be
consecutive.

2. The system tracks compliant and noncompliant months for all ABAWDs
who are issued benefits. Manual tracking of these months is not required.

3. At each issuance the system determines the number of BA months an
ABAWD has at that particular issuance. The system recalculates cases on
the first work day of the issuance month. ABAWDS who are identified as
having accumulated 3 BA months are generated a notice of ineligibility.

ABAWDs must be reviewed to ensure BA months have not been accumulated
erroneously. If the ABAWD was not initially given the opportunity to comply
before accumulating BA months, they must be allowed to do so. Complete a
reinstatement, application or a member add as appropriate. The ABAWD does
not need to be present to complete this action. Review tracking codes and
change as appropriate. If BA months are appropriate, document the case
record.]

ABAWDs accumulating 3 BA months are:
1. Ineligible household members;

2. Removed from the case effective the following month or discontinued if
there are no remaining eligible household members;

3. Included in income and resource consideration of the remaining household
member’s eligibility; income and deductions of ineligible ABAWDS are to
be pro-rated; and

4. Mailed a notice of ineligibility.
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MS 2750 ABAWD BONUS MONTHS &)

[ABAWDS who accumulate 3 noncompliant (BA) months, and have reestablished
eligibility by employment, but later lose the employment are entitled to 3 BONUS
months of eligibility. Employment can either be paid or unpaid to qualify for this
extension of benefits.]

A. Bonus months are ALWAYS consecutive and begin the date the change is re-
ported to the Agency.

B. ABAWD requirements are not applied to the member during BONUS months.
BONUS months are counted as compliant months. However, all other SNAP
eligibility criteria apply.

C. Once BONUS months have expired, the member must again meet ABAWD
requirements to maintain eligibility, unless otherwise exempt.

D. BONUS months are given only once in any 36-month period.

[EXAMPLE: An ABAWD is approved for SNAP from 3/1/08 through 8/31/08 with no
work activity. Benefits are terminated effective 6/1/08. The individual worked 80
hours in 7/08, reapplied and was approved for benefits ongoing. On 9/1/08, he
reports he was laid off. He is eligible for 3 consecutive BONUS months (9/08,
10/08, and 11/08) of SNAP with or without meeting ABAWD requirements.
Effective 12/1/08 the member must again meet ABAWD requirements or be
ineligible for SNAP]
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MS 3050 ETP OVERVIEW &)

[ETP is a work program that includes job search, work experience training and
education to assist ABAWDs in obtaining employment. Kentucky's work programs
are offered in counties which demonstrate the greatest opportunity for recipients to
acquire employment. These counties are active ETP/ABAWD counties. Each
county's designation as an active ETP/ABAWD county is based on its unemployment
rate and job availability.]
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MS 3250* COMPONENT CHOICES @)

ABAWDs may only participate in the following allowable components to maintain
SNAP eligibility. ETP funding is based on ABAWD participation.

The components listed below have been approved for ABAWD participation:

1.

VOCATIONAL EDUCATION (VES) — This component is offered to build skills that
lead to full-time employment. The worker refers participants through WIOA to
a vocational school or any other available WIOA or TAA related employment
and training course. The nature of the training course determines the length
of participation. If placement is not available within 45 days of referral, refer
the participant to a WEP component. If WIOA does not accept the referral,
refer directly to a training program. Twenty hours of participation weekly is
required to comply with component requirements.

WORK EXPERIENCE PROGRAM (WEP) — This component assists participants in
meeting ABAWD requirements. Encourage ABAWDs to choose this component
if they are not otherwise meeting work requirements. WEP participants must
complete an initial 30-day job search prior to being placed at a WEP site.
Failure to comply with the initial 30-day job search is considered
noncompliance and makes the participant subject to disqualification.
Participants must complete a specific number of hours of volunteer work per
month based on the household's SNAP allotment. To determine the number of
hours the recipient is required to work, see MS 2250. The goal of this
component is to assist participants in transitioning from unpaid employment to
paid employment. Participation is required on a year-round basis to meet
ABAWD provisions.
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MS 3400 REPORTING CHANGES Q)

[Changes that impact ETP participation MUST be reported.

The following changes in ETP participation status are automatically processed by
the system when action is taken on a SNAP case.

1. Participant becomes ineligible;
2. Mandatory registrant becomes exempt;
3. Address change; and

4. Participant is disqualified.]
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MS 3500 TRANSPORTATION PAYMENT PROCEDURES Q)

Transportation payments are paid in advance based on anticipated expenses an
ABAWD expects to incur. All ETP participants are eligible for a transportation
payment up to $25 based on anticipated expenses each month, as long as the
ABAWD is participating. The client’'s statement is accepted as verification. The
payment will not exceed $25 regardless of the amount the ETP participant spends.
30 days has to lapse between payments.

Transportation payments are authorized as follows:

1. [ABAWDS who complete the up-front assessment are eligible for up to $25
transportation payment based on anticipated expenses. As long as the
participant signs the assessment agreeing to the employability plan and
anticipates having a transportation expense to complete the job search, they
are eligible for a payment.]

2. ABAWDS who keep follow-up reviews each month are eligible for up to $25
transportation payment based on anticipated expenses for the following
month. This includes when the follow-up review is conducted by phone or
mail. The participant signs form FSET-108, Job Search Contact Report, or
form FSET-145, Employment and Training Program Activity Report, whichever
is applicable, to request this payment.
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MS 3600 AUTHORIZING TRANSPORTATION PAYMENTS Q)

[Transportation payments are issued as a manual issuance off of “Benefit
Management” under “Tools”, as a “SNAP E&T” benefit type.

A. Authorize up to $25 transportation payments.

B. 30 days has to lapse between payments.

C. For follow-up reviews which are not conducted face-to-face, use form PAFS-2,
Application Letter or Notice of Expiration, to send incomplete or incorrect forms
back to the participant, allowing 10 days for the return of completed/corrected

forms.

D. Document the “Activity Progress” screen with all case actions.]
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MS 3700

CONCILIATION DUE TO NONCOMPLIANCE &)

Conciliation is the process that is used to determine why the ABAWD is not
participating in ETP, if there is a good cause reason for noncompliance, and to
determine if any barriers exist.

A.

[Conciliation begins when the ETP worker becomes aware that there is
noncompliance by the participant. This includes when the individual does not
keep an appointment. If good cause does not exist, the system will do the

following:

1. Generate notice of conciliation contact and Request for Information.

2. If the participant has not responded by the 14th calendar day, a
disqualification will be imposed.

3. If the participant responds on the 15th calendar day and noncompliance is

resolved, the disqualification is also removed.

The ETP participant must do one of the following to resolve the noncompliance
and cancel the conciliation:

1.

Participants who fail to complete assessment, complete job search, or
keep their follow-up appointment must keep an appointment within the
15-day conciliation period;]

Participants who fail to comply with their component requirements must
do so within the 15-day conciliation period; or

Participants who fail to complete the required number of hours in WEP or
VES must make up the hours within the 15-day conciliation period, and
continue to meet the required number of hours ongoing.
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MS 3800 IMPOSING ETP DISQUALIFICATIONS (1
If conciliation is not successful, a disqualification is recommended.

A. [The system will automatically apply disqualifications as appropriate based on
system entry.

B. Once it is determined that the disqualification is appropriate, DO NOT DELETE
the disqualification. It must remain on the system.

C.] Once the disqualification is imposed appropriately, the worker must change the
previous months tracking to reflect noncompliant (BA) months as appropriate.
Refer to MS 2300 for procedures on how to change tracking.
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MS 3850 ET CONCILIATION MET &)

[If the member complies after the disqualification has been entered on the system,
do the following IMMEDIATELY:

A.

If the disqualification is pending for adverse action, delete the disqualification
and annotate comments.

If the case has been discontinued due to imposing the disqualification and it is
the month of discontinuance, do the following:

1. Delete the disqualification;

2. Reinstate the case using the information previously verified in the case
record. The member need not be present in this situation;

3. DO NOT change the previous certification end date or work registration
date;

4. If the original certification end date is the month the reinstatement needs
to be processed, a reinstatement cannot be done. Instead, delete the
disqualification and send a recertification appointment letter using form
PAFS-2, Application Letter or Notice of Expiration, advising the member of
the expiring certification.

If the household shows for the interview, process an application,
backdating if necessary to ensure full benefits for the month of
discontinuance. The application serves as the household's recertification
and an interview is required.]

If the household fails to show for the interview, document case comments
that the disqualification was incorrectly imposed and the household failed
to appear for the scheduled recertification interview. Send the household
form PAFS-2, advising that the disqualification was in error, has been
deleted, and they are eligible to reapply for benefits. Do not backdate the
application when the household reapplies; and

5. Document comments concerning case actions.

If the case has been discontinued due to imposing the disqualification and it is
the month after discontinuance, it is no longer possible to use the
reinstatement function, do the following:

1. Delete the disqualification;

2. [Process an application to activate the case, backdating to the 1st day of
the discontinuance effective month to prevent a loss of benefits. The
member need not be present in this situation;

3. If the original certification end date is the month the application is
entered, a two month certification period must be given. The certification
end date cannot be changed during the application, it must be shortened
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through case change and there must be 10 days left in the current month.
Send a recertification appointment letter using form PAFS-2 advising the
member of the expiring certification; and]

4. Document comments concerning case actions thoroughly.

D. If the case is active but the member has been removed due to the
disqualification, do the following:

1. Delete the disqualification;

2. Process a member add using the old work registration date and
verification. The member need not be present;

3. Restore benefits to the member, if appropriate; and

4. Document comments concerning case actions.
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MS 3900 CURING DISQUALIFICATIONS 1)

A disqualified member who fails to cooperate with work requirements in an active
ETP/ABAWD county must serve the disqualification period, unless they become
exempt from work registration during that period.

[Once the member serves the disqualification period and they have notified DCBS
that they want to be added back in to a case or they have re-applied for SNAP, they
must complete the activity which caused the disqualification, unless the member
becomes exempt from work registration. This has to occur before eligibility can be
determined.]

A. Procedures for the member who wishes to cure the disqualification, and what
actions the worker must take to accomplish this process are as follows:

1. [If the member is exempt from or complying with ABAWD requirements,
consider the disqualification cured. Process an application or member add,
as appropriate;

2. If the member is not exempt from ABAWD requirements, the worker must
first update the address/county, if changed;

3. The worker completes a case change;
4. The worker must inquire tracking to determine if 3 noncompliant (BA)
months have been accumulated in the current 36 month period, and if so,

follow procedures in MS 4000;

If 3 BA months have not been accumulated, the ETP worker schedules an
appointment for the member, to take place within 10 days;

5. If the member does not keep the appointment, they remain disqualified;

6. If the member keeps the appointment, explain what actions must be
taken to cure the disqualification. The member must complete the
activity that caused the disqualification within 15 calendar days;

7. If the member shows good cause for non cooperation, enter the good
cause reasons, and advise the member that good cause DOES NOT cure

the disqualification;

8. Once the member cures the disqualification by completing the activity,
the member may reapply for benefits;

9. If the member fails to cure the disqualification, the member remains
disqualified; and

10. Document comments and update “Activity Progress”.

B. If the member becomes exempt from work registration during the
disqualification period, the procedures are as follows:
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1. Change the member’s information screens to reflect the exemption;
2. Process an application or member add, as appropriate; and
3. Document comments and update “Activity Progress”.

C. If the member becomes exempt after the disqualification is imposed, but
before the first effective month, the procedures are as follows:

1. Change the member’s information screens to reflect the exemption;
2. Delete the disqualification;
3. Process the application or member add, as appropriate; and

4. Document comments and update “Activity Progress”.]
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MS 4000 COMPLIANCE REFERRALS Q)

Compliance with ABAWD requirements is not anticipated if the member has
accumulated 3 noncompliant (BA) months. If the non-exempt ABAWD wishes to
comply, they must do so within 30 days. Transportation payments can be resumed
once the member is placed in WEP, as long as 30 days has lapsed between
payments. Use the appropriate form for the payment request.

Process ABAWD compliance referrals as follows:

A. When the case and member are inactive, and the non-exempt ABAWD wishes
to comply after accumulating 3 BA months, do the following:

1. [Accept the application and pend;

2. Advise the ABAWD that a WEP placement has to be completed within 30
days for ABAWD compliance, explain placement procedures if not
previously done so;

3. Once the WEP placement has been completed, enter the component type
WEP;

4. Process the pending application, if all other verification is present. If the
WEP placement is not completed in 30 days, deny the application if a one
member household or if more than one household member, process the
application for the other members, if all other verification is present; and

5. Document comments and update “Activity Progress”.]

B. When the case is active, without the non-exempt ABAWD and they wish to
comply after accumulating 3 BA months, do the following:

1. [Follow steps A. 4-5 above;
2. Complete a member add; and
3. Follow step A. 5 above.]

C. When the case and member are inactive, and the non-exempt ABAWD wishes
to comply after accumulating 3 BA months AND who also has a disqualification
(which must first be served) for failing to comply with ETP work requirements,
do the following:

1. [The worker inquires tracking to determine if 3 BA months have been
accumulated. Enter DCP (Disqualification Component Pending) code as
the tracking code until the member completes the activity which caused

the disqualification;

2. Once the activity is completed, enter type WPP as the tracking code or
enter type WEP, if the activity was a WEP placement;

3. Advise the ABAWD that a WEP placement has to be completed within 30
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days for ABAWD compliance. Once the member complies, change WPP to
WEP, if appropriate; or advise if already in a WEP placement, participation
is continued for ongoing eligibility;

4. Once the ABAWD is placed in WEP, change the cure the disqualification
and send form PAFS-2, Application Letter or Notice of Expiration, advising
the ABAWD he/she can reapply for benefits

5. Document comments and update “Activity Progress”.

D. When the case is active without the non-exempt ABAWD and they wish to
comply after accumulating 3 BA months AND who also has a disqualification
imposed (which must first be served) for failing to comply with ETP work
requirements, do the following:

1. Follow steps C. 1-3 above; and

2. Cure the disqualification and process a member add; and

3. Document comments and update “Activity Progress”.]
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MS 4150* IMPOSING ETP DISQUALIFICATIONS (&)

Noncompliance occurs when an individual fails to comply with ETP requirements
without good cause and conciliation is wunsuccessful. A disqualification is
automatically imposed based on system entries. If the disqualification is imposed in
error after conciliation is successful, the case must be reinstated IMMEDIATELY.

Once a disqualification is correctly imposed, a disqualified member's ineligibility
continues until the minimum period is served; the disqualification is cured; or the
member becomes exempt from work registration. See MS 2100.
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MS 4205 VOLUNTARY QUIT/REDUCTION Q)
OF WORK HOURS IDENTIFICATION

At application, recertification or case change when the worker becomes aware of a
loss of employment, determine if the member subject to work registration quit a
job. For applications, look back 30 days from the date of application. For active
cases, review for job quits anytime during receipt of benefits.

Voluntary quit does not apply if the member is exempt from work registration
requirements. The SNAP household is allowed to change the work registration
exemption for who is responsible for the care of a dependent child under age 6 at
any time.

Consider reduction of work hours to less than the equivalent of the Federal
minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours per week, the same as voluntary quit. Use
the same good cause criteria for both.

A. To be considered a voluntary quit/reduction of work hours, the employment
must meet the following criteria:

1. Involve 30 hours or more per week or provide earnings equivalent to the
Federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours per week; and

2. The quit was without good cause. Refer to MS 4250 for good cause
criteria.

B. Consider employees of a Federal, State or local government who participate in
a strike against such government and are dismissed from the job due to
participation in the strike, to have voluntarily quit a job without good cause.

C. Consider contract employees, who choose not to renew their contract with
terms comparable to those of a previous contract, although it is offered, to
have voluntarily quit a job without good cause.

D. Once a voluntary quit/reduction of work hours is verified, the work related
disqualification is imposed based on system entries.

E. Primary Wage Earner designation has no bearing on identification of voluntary
quit/reduction of work hours.

F. Do NOT consider the following changes in employment status as voluntary
quit:

1. Termination of a self-employment enterprise;
2. Resignation of a job at the request of the employer; or

3. Loss of a job through no fault of their own if the job was obtained to cure
a previous voluntary quit.
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G. Consider refusal to provide sufficient information to allow a determination of
employment status as non-compliance with a work requirement and a
disqualification is imposed for that member.

1. If the statements or information concerning a member's loss of
employment or reduction in work hours is questionable, request
verification of the questionable information.

2. Assist the member in obtaining the requested information if needed.

3. [If all the information has been received to determine the household’s
ongoing eligibility except the questionable information concerning loss of
employment or reduction of work hours, and that member is required to
register for work, approve the application, recertification, etc., but identify
that the member voluntary quit the job on the Earned Income Details
screen and the system will automatically apply a disqualification for the
member.]

4. If the household provides the information after the disqualification has
been imposed, and this information indicates that a voluntary
quit/reduction of work hours is not appropriate, delete the disqualification
in this situation. The Supervisor or Principal worker can delete the
disqualification. Add the member back to the case the first effective
month, and provide a supplement, if appropriate.

5. While serving an appropriate disqualification, if the member becomes
exempt from work registration requirements, the disqualification period
does not have to be served, and is considered cured. The member is
added back to the case the first effective month. Supplements are not
appropriate if the member ends the disqualification period by becoming
exempt from work registration requirements in the month of the reported
change.

H. Do not delay benefits beyond the normal processing timeframe pending
determination of a voluntary quit.

I. Once a voluntary quit/reduction of work hours disqualification has been
imposed, the member must serve the disqualification period, unless the
member becomes exempt work registration. After the member has served the
disqualification period, he/she DOES NOT have to comply before eligibility can
be redetermined.
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MS 4250 GOOD CAUSE FOR VOLUNTARY QUIT/REDUCTION
OF WORK HOURS (1)
A. Good cause for leaving employment or reduction of work hours includes:

B.

1.

10.

Discrimination by an employer based on age, race, sex, disability,
religious beliefs, national origin or political beliefs;

Work demands or conditions that render continued employment
unreasonable, such as working without being paid on schedule;

Acceptance of employment or enroliment of at least half-time in any
recognized school, training program or institution of higher education,
that requires the member to leave employment or reduce work hours;

Resignations by persons under the age of 60 which are recognized by
the employer as retirement;

Leaving employment which becomes unsuitable after the acceptance of
such employment. Refer to MS 4300 for further explanation.

Acceptance of a bona fide offer of employment of 30 hours per week
or the equivalent of the Federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours
per week, and because of circumstances beyond the control of the
member, the employment either does not materialize or results in
employment of less than 30 hours per a week or earnings less than
the Federal minimum wage multiplied by 30 hours per week;

[Leaving a job in connection with patterns of employment in which
workers frequently move from one employer to another, such as
migrant farm labor or construction work. Circumstances may include
applying for SNAP between jobs, and work may not yet be available at
the new job site. Although employment at the new site has not
begun, quitting the previous employment is considered good cause if it
is part of the pattern of employment;]

Military personnel who choose not to reenlist; or

Leaving a paid position of employment pursuant to provisions under
the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) of 1993. This must be
verified by the employer or a certified physician or practitioner.

FMLA requires covered employers to grant up to twelve weeks of
unpaid, job-protected leave to "eligible” employees for certain family
and medical reasons. Upon return from FMLA leave, employees must
be restored to their original or equivalent positions with equivalent
pay, benefits and other employment terms.

Lack of adequate childcare for children between ages 6 and 12.

Good cause may also include some circumstances as listed in MS 2550.
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C.

Verify good cause for voluntary quit, if questionable. The primary
responsibility for providing verification rests with the household. Offer
assistance if the member indicates it is impossible to obtain verification.
When documentary evidence cannot be obtained, substitute a collateral
contact.

1. Acceptable sources of verification include but are not limited to:

a. Previous employer;
b. Employee association;
C. Union representatives;
d. Grievance committees; or
e. Other organizations.
2. If the household and local office are unable to obtain the requested

verification, but the quit resulted from circumstances that for good
reasons cannot be obtained, the household is not denied access to the
program. Document the case for review purposes.
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MS 4300 EVALUATING ACCEPTABLE EMPLOYMENT @)

A good cause reason for voluntary quit or reduction in work hours can be due to
unsuitable employment conditions. Use the following criteria:

A. Consider employment unsuitable if the wage offered is less than the highest
of the following:

1. The applicable Federal minimum wage;
2. The applicable State minimum wage; or

3. 80% of the Federal minimum wage if neither the Federal nor State
minimum wage is applicable. The Federal or State minimum wage is
not applicable when the following applies:

a. Federal minimum wage - The retail business has less than
$500,000.00 in sales annually;

b. State minimum wage - The retail business has less than
$95,000.00 in sales annually; or

c. Federal or State minimum wage - The member is employed as a
domestic, live in companion, or has odd job income, etc.

B. Consider employment unsuitable if:

1. Offered on a piece-rate basis and the average hourly yield the
employee can reasonably expect to earn is less than the applicable
minimum wage;

2. The member is required to join, resign from or refrain from joining any
legitimate labor organization as a condition of employment; or

3. Work offered is at a site subject to a strike or lockout at the time of
the offer, unless the strike has been enjoined under Section 208 of the
Labor Management Relations Act (Taft-Hartley Act) or Section 10 of
the Railway Labor Act.

Eligible strikers are subject to regular work registration procedures. If
the strike is enjoined under Section 208 of the Labor-Management
Relations Act (Taft-Hartley Act) or if an injunction is issued under
Section 10 of the Railway Labor Act and the striker refuses to return to
work, the striker has failed to comply with the requirement of
acceptance of suitable employment.

C. Consider employment unsuitable if the household member involved can
demonstrate or the worker otherwise becomes aware that:

1. The degree of risk to health and safety is unreasonable;
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2.

@)

The member is physically or mentally unfit to perform the
employment. This must be documented by medical evidence or by
reliable information from other sources;

The employment offered within the first 30 calendar days of
registration is not in the member's major field of experience;

The distance from the member's home to the place of employment is
unreasonable considering the expected wage and the time and cost of
commuting;

Daily commuting time exceeds two hours per day, not including
transporting a child to and from a child care facility;

The distance to the place of employment prohibits walking and neither
public nor private transportation is available to transport the member
to the job site; or

The working hours or nature of the employment interferes with the
member's religious observances, convictions, or beliefs.
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MS 4350 NONCOMPLIANCE WITH OTHER WORK PROGRAMS Q)

[If a SNAP member fails to comply with another program’s work requirements, a
disqualification is imposed for the noncompliant SNAP member. The disqualification
will be system imposed based on the action taken in the other program. The
member must be in receipt of SNAP at the time the noncompliance occurred, for
this to apply.

The other programs include, but are not limited to the following:
1. KWP (KTAP work requirement); and
2. UIB.

If noncompliance occurs, notification can be received by any of the following
methods:

1. System imposed 310 or 316; or]

2. UIB verification including Program 4B, UIB worker contact or information
provided by the member.

The types of disqualifications to impose are as follows:
1. 310 - Noncomply with other PGRM (25 % reduction); or
2. 316 - KWP/UIB Sanction/Refuse Job Offer (member removed).

A. [A 310 disqualification is imposed for member's who are exempt work
registration, other than for the receipt of KTAP.

EXAMPLE: Mother, age 42 and one child age 4. Mother fails to comply with
KWP in a KTAP case. A disqualification is imposed in the KTAP case, which
imposes a 310 or 316 in the SNAP case.

B. A 316 disqualification is imposed for member's who are exempt work
registration, based solely on the receipt of KTAP.

EXAMPLE: Mother, age 42 and one child age 14. Mother fails to comply with
KWP in a KTAP case. A disqualification is imposed in the KTAP case, which
imposes a 310 or 316 in the SNAP case.]

C. A 316 disqualification is imposed for member's who are exempt work
registration, based solely on a pending UIB application or the receipt of UIB.

EXAMPLE 1: Mother, age 42 and one child age 14. Mother is in receipt of UIB
and fails to comply with job search required by UIB. This can be verified by
Program 4B, UIB worker contact or information provided by the member.

EXAMPLE 2: Mother, age 42 and one child age 14. Mother applies for UIB and
is subsequently denied; the reason for denial is job quit, refusal to accept a job
offer or noncompliance with UIB. This can be verified by Program 4B, UIB
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worker contact or information provided by the member.

Members currently serving a 310 or 316 disqualification due to compliance with

another program must comply with the requirements of the other program,

regardless of work registration exemption.

[Once requirements of the other program are met, verification of compliance occurs
by any of the following methods:

1. A system imposed action; or

2. UIB verification.
If the SNAP case is discontinued after the 310 disqualification is imposed, the
disqualification would still apply at reapplication if the KTAP noncompliance is still in

effect.

Document comments concerning any disqualifications.]
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MS 4450 IMPOSING WORK-RELATED DISQUALIFICATIONS @)
A. Impose the appropriate work related disqualification once noncompliance is

verified. Imposing a work related disqualification has the following effect on
the member:

1. The disqualification begins the month the adverse notice is effective;

2. Only the member is disqualified, and the disqualification follows the
member;

3. The member's income and resources continue to count toward the
remaining household members; and

4. A notice is generated to the household explaining the number of months
disqualified how it affects the benefits, the right to a hearing and
requirements to reapply once the disqualification period ends.

If the household requests a hearing after being disqualified the member may
request that benefits be continued. See Volume I, MS 0580.

If the Agency is affirmed as a result of the hearing, the disqualification is
imposed prospectively (ongoing), and a claim is not filed for the months
benefits were continued.

If the disqualification cannot be imposed prospectively, a claim is appropriate
for benefits received while the hearing decision was pending. The reasons a
disqualification would not be imposed prospectively may include the member’s
SNAP eligibility was not continued for other reasons, or the member may be
exempt from work registration.

An agency error claim exists if a disqualification is not imposed TIMELY due to
the agency's delay and the member becomes exempt work registration prior to
imposing the disqualification.

Disqualifications are imposed regardless of the active or inactive status of the
case or county. The member must have been in receipt of benefits at the time
the noncompliance occurred, to impose the disqualification.

Separate work related disqualifications are NOT imposed simultaneously. Each
disqualification must first be served, and then cured, and eligibility
reestablished, before another disqualification can be imposed.

[Document comments regarding the circumstances of all work related
disqualifications.]
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MS 4500 ENDING WORK-RELATED DISQUALIFICATIONS @)

A. For the following work related disqualifications, the member must first serve
the mandatory disqualification period and then establish compliance, prior to
reestablishing eligibility, unless the member becomes exempt from work
registration. To establish compliance, do the following:

1. If the member refused to work register (313), the member must work
register;
2. If the member failed to complete the ETP assessment (314), the member

must complete the ETP assessment; or

3. If the member failed to comply with ETP requirements (315), the member
must comply with ETP requirements.

B. [For a voluntary quit/reduction of work hours disqualification (330), the
member must first serve the mandatory disqualification period prior to
reestablishing eligibility, unless the member becomes exempt from work
registration. A 330 disqualification does not require the member to comply
prior to re-establishing eligibility. Once the disqualification period is served,
the member can reapply or a member add can be completed.

C. For a KWP or UIB disqualification (316), the member must comply with the
KWP or UIB requirement which caused the SNAP disqualification, in order to
establish compliance with the SNAP work requirements. The entire
disqualification period does not have to be served once the member complies
with the other program. Ensure the member is shown as having a UIB Claim
pending to exempt he member from work registration.

For the 316, the disqualification period must be served unless the member
becomes exempt work registration. If the member becomes exempt for a
reason other than complying with the other program, add the 310
disqualification to prevent an increase in SNAP benefits due to decrease in
KTAP benefits caused by noncompliance.

D. After the disqualification period is served the member can reapply for benefits
or a member add can be completed. Add the member to an active case
effective the month following compliance. Supplemental benefits are only
issued for the month of CURE if the disqualification is not acted on timely or it
is after cut-off. Supplementals are NOT issued if the member ended the
disqualification by becoming exempt from work registration requirements.

E. Except for voluntary quit/reduction of work hours (330) disqualifications, if the
member does not comply, the disqualification is not considered cured.

The member remains ineligible ongoing until compliance is established.
Document comments concerning the member's status at any subsequent
application, recertification, or member add.

F. If the member is currently serving a work related disqualification, other than a
316, and becomes exempt, do the following:
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1. Verify the exemption, if questionable;
2.  Cure the disqualification;

3. The system automatically uploads and protects the current date in the
Date Cured field;

4. Process an application or member add as appropriate; and
5. Correct ABAWD tracking if applicable.

G. If a work related disqualification other than a 316 has been entered but is NOT
YET EFFECTIVE, and the member becomes exempt from work registration, do
the following:

1. Verify the exemption, if questionable;

2. Delete the disqualification; and

3. Thoroughly document comments concerning the member becoming
exempt work registration prior to the disqualification becoming effective.

H. Discontinuance of the KTAP case cures the 310/316 FS disqualification.

I. The member is responsible for contacting the local office to reapply for benefits
after the disqualification period ends.

J. DO NOT DELETE THE DISQUALIFICATIONS, unless otherwise advised, even if
the member becomes exempt work registration. Disqualifications remain on
the system in order to track occurrences, regardless of the active or inactive
status of the case or county.

K. Document comments concerning actions taken on all work related
disqualifications.]
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MS 4550 PENALTIES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE Q)

Failure to comply with work requirements result in SNAP disqualification for the
noncompliant member.

Work related disqualifications for noncompliance are for a specified time, depending
on the occurrence. Once imposed appropriately disqualifications are NOT DELETED,
unless otherwise advised. Disqualifications can limit a member’s participation in a
particular program or prevent the member from receiving benefits.

A. Work-related disqualifications are tracked by the system for multiple
occurrences.

B. Disqualifications imposed based on system entries:
1. 313 - Fail/Refuse to Work Register; and

2. 330 — Voluntary Quit/Reduced Hrs, or refusal to provide sufficient
information to allow a determination of employment status.

C. [Disqualifications imposed based on system imposed information:
1. 314 — ETP Assessment Interview;
2. 315 - ETP Requirement; and
3. 316 — KWP/UIB Sanction/Refuse Job Offer (If the member is not
complying with KWP, a 316 disqualification is imposed if the member is
exempt from work registration only because of KWP participation. If the
member is otherwise exempt from work registration, then a work
disqualification is not appropriate. A 310 disqualification would be
imposed, as per Volume II, MS 2370, Non-compliance with other
Programs. ]
D. Penalties are as follows:
1. 1st violation = 2 months;

2. 2nd violation = 4 months; and

3. 3rd and subsequent violations = 6 months.
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MS 4800 MOVE FROM COUNTY TO COUNTY Q)

A. [When a work registered member moves from an inactive ETP county to an
active ETP county, form KIF-ET1, must be sent to the member within 10 days
to be completed.

B. When a work registered member moves from an active ETP county to an
inactive ETP county, once the address/county is changed ETP activity will stop.

If it is later discovered, after the address/county code is changed, that
transportation had not been issued, forward the payment information to the
Nutrition Assistance Branch for manual processing. This should be a rare
occurrence.

If the member is ineligible due to receipt of 3 noncompliant (BA) months,
process an application or member add, as appropriate.

Moving to an inactive ETP county does not exempt the member from work
registration requirements or prevent a disqualification from being served.

If the member has a current work related disqualification already imposed, the
disqualification period MUST be served, unless otherwise exempt from work
registration. There are no procedures for curing an ETP disqualification in an
inactive county. Once the member has served the disqualification period and
the end date is in the past, consider the disqualification cured. Process an
application or member add, as appropriate. ]
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MS 4850 REINSTATING AFTER ERRONEOUS ETP DISQUALIFICATION (&)

[If a disqualification has been imposed erroneously, delete the disqualification,
reinstate the case and/or add the member and restore benefits as necessary. A
reapplication or member add must be completed on the disqualified member using

previous verification and the old work registration date. Document comments for
review purposes.]
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