Statute of Limitations (Sept. 2003)

Question:  “MS 26.050 states; Case law permits CHR to initiate action to collect arrears for up to 15 years after the youngest child named in the order attains the age of majority or is otherwise emancipated. 

I was under the impression that we could only collect for up to the 15 years after emancipation but due to recent actions taken by revenue I am wondering if I have been interpreting it wrong. My question is, does the 15 year time frame mean we have 15 years to initiate action or do we have 15 years to initiate and collect? Is the 15 year time frame a cut off for initiating action to collect or is it a cut off for collecting? If the 15 year time frame is a cut off for collecting, what do we do if revenue has placed a lien on an individuals property (real or personal)?” 

Answer:  Per Prosecutors' Handbook Subsection 26.050 and Operations' Manual Subsection 29.090, "Based on a 1984 Kentucky Court of Appeals decision (Heisley v. Heisley, 676 S.W.2d 477), action to collect arrearages may be initiated for up to 15 years after the youngest child named in the order attains the age of majority or is otherwise emancipated. "Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS) 413.090(1), Action upon judgment, contract or bond--Fifteen-year limitation, states that ... "the following actions shall be commenced within fifteen (15) years after the cause of action first accrued: an action upon a judgment or decree of any court of this state or of the United States, or of any state or territory thereof, the period to be computed from the date of the last execution thereon." 

If you initiate action within the statute of limitations, the case remains open for collections until the case meets case closure criteria.

